Anthrax Discusses Its “Sixth Member” In New Behind-The-Scenes Video

Courtesy:  Nuclear Blast Records

Courtesy: Nuclear Blast Records

Anthrax is giving its fans another look behind the scenes in the making of its new album For All Kings.

The band released a new behind-the-scenes this week. This latest video sees the band switching gears from discussions on songwriting to working with producer Jay Ruston. Ruston manned the boards on the band’s most recent album, 2011’s Worship Music. He also helmed this new recording from the veteran thrash metal band. Over the course of the video, which runs just over three-and-a-half minutes, the band discusses working with Ruston on Worship Music and how that influenced their decision to have him on the boards again for this record. There are plenty of positive comments to be had as he is called the band’s “sixth member” and even the proverbial “Fifth Beatle.” As guitarist Scott Ian notes of Ruston, “He’s become an integral part of our process, that’s for sure. It’s cliche, but he really has become a sixth member.”

Ian’s comment is just one that stands out in the new discussion. There is also a note of Ruston’s ability to keep the band from going over the top in recording the songs featured in this record. In other words they trust him because of his ability to motivate the band yet also keep it from doing too much with any given song. Perhaps the best and most illustrative description of why Ruston helmed this record is Frank Bellow’s comment that he “knows how to make us shine.” There is much more discussion throughout the video. Audiences can check it out now online via YouTube at

Courtesy:  megaforce Records/Nuclear Blast Records

Courtesy: megaforce Records/Nuclear Blast Records

Anthrax is currently on the road in support of For All Kings. The album will be available in stores and online on Friday, February 26th. The band will be in Nashville, TN today. It will then make its way East to Norfolk, VA, where for a show on Friday. Shows in NY and CT are currently slated to round out the weekend, weather permitting. The band’s current tour schedule is listed below.



20   Marathon Music Works, Nashville, TN

22   Constant Convocation Center, Norfolk, VA

23   Hammerstein Ballroom, New York, NY

24   Oakdale Theatre, Wallingford, CT

26   Starland Ballroom, Sayerville, NJ

27   Newport Music Hall, Columbus, OH  (HEADLINE DATE)

28   Royal Oak Music Theatre, Royal Oak, MI

29   Egyptian Room at Old National Center, Indianapolis, IN

30   Aragon Ballroom, Chicago, IL

31   Orbit Room, Grand Rapids, MI


2   Arvest Bank Theatre at The Midland, Kansas City, MO

3   George’s Majestic Lounge, Fayetteville, AR  (HEADLINE DATE)

4   Revention Music Center, Houston, TX

5   Bomb Factory, Dallas, TX

6   Concrete Street Pavilion, Corpus Christi, TX

8   ACL Live at the Moody Theatre, Austin, TX

9   Diamond Ballroom, Oklahoma City, OK

10  Sunshine Theatre, Albuquerque, NM  (HEADLINE DATE)

11  Brooklyn Bowl, Las Vegas, NV

12  Hollywood Palladium, Los Angeles, CA


More information on For All Kings is available online now along with all of the band’s latest news and tour updates at:





To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it. Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.