Mountain Heart Reveals Details For New LP; Premieres New Single

Courtesy:  Compass Records

Courtesy: Compass Records

Five years have passed since Mountain Heart released its last full-length studio recording That Just Happened. Now the long wait for the band’s next new album is finally about to come to an end. The Nashville, TN-based bluegrass band has announced that it will release its next full-length studio recording this spring.

Blue Skies, the band’s eighth full-length studio recording, will be released Friday, May 6th via Compass Records. In anticipation of the record’s upcoming album the band has premiered the album’s lead single ‘Addicted.’ The song was premiered this week via Pop Matters at For those that are not familiar with the band and its sound, this latest composition bears a similarity to the likes of Mumford & Sons, Zac Brown Band, and Delta Rae among others of that ilk.

Front man Josh Shilling wrote most of the material featured in the ten-song record. Country/bluegrass superstar Christ Stapleton co-wrote one of the album’s songs alongside Shilling and Ronnie Bowman. There is also a cover of Bob Dylan’s famed composition ‘Maggie’s Farm’ included in the body of the album. The album’s full track listing is noted below.


Mountain Heart Blue Skies Track Listing:
1. Blue Skies
2. Miss Me When I’m Gone
3. Maggie’s Farm
4. No One To Listen
5. She’ll Come Back To Me
6. Addicted
7. The Bad Grounds
8. Have You Heard About The Old Hometown
9. I Can’t Get Over You
10. Hurting


Shilling discussed the album’s title in a recent interview noting that it refers to the band’s new mission statement and how it relates to the band’s past and future. “‘Blue Skies’ is not only the title track from the new album, but in so many ways, it’s also the new Mountain Heart mission statement,” he said. “Rather than focusing on the past, clouding our time with negativity or anxiety, we’re focusing on living in the here and now and celebrating every opportunity we have together.  Our love and passion for each other and the music we create is transparent on and off stage.  We live our lives doing what we love while making lifelong memories every night with our friends and supporters around the world.  What more could we possibly ask for?”

Mountain Heart will embark on a spring/summer tour in support of Blue Skies beginning April 7th in Richmond, KY. The tour currently runs through July 16th in Spruce Pines, NC at the town’s annual BBQ Championship. More information on the band’s tour is available online now along with more information on Blue Skies and the band’s latest headlines at:






To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it. Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.