ZZ Top To Release New Live Recording This Summer

Courtesy: Suretone Records/Merlis For Hire

Courtesy: Suretone Records/Merlis For Hire

ZZ Top has a new live recording on the way.

The veteran rock trio has announced that it will release a new live recording this summer.  Greatest Hits Live will be released Friday, August 12th via Suretone Records.  The record will feature live performances of some of the band’s biggest hits from its decades-long career.  They include the band’s breakthrough hit ‘La Grange,’ ‘Gimme All Your Lovin’,’ Sharp Dressed Man,’ ‘Legs,’ and even a special cover of Tennessee Ernie Ford’s ‘Sixteen Tons.’  The performances in question are taken from a number of the band’s tours rather than just one tour.  Billy Gibbons, the band’s front man, said of the recording that it is the live record for fans from the band.  “We spend the biggest stretch of every year out on the road, whippin’ wire, poundin’ skin, and rockin’ it way up,” he said.  “This is the true document of life de la ZZ.  In an abstract surrealism style, this collection is a definitive chronicle of the band hangin’ together for four plus deluxe decades, getting down to do what we get to do. Enjoy and listen to loudness!”

Greatest Hits Live will be released on a variety of platforms including: CD, gatefold vinyl, and digital through all streaming and download stores.  Pre-orders for th record are open now via Amazon (CD: http://smarturl.it/CD_LGHFATW, vinyl: http://smarturl.it/LP_LGHFATW) and via iTunes (http://smarturl.it/iT-LGHFATW).  Fans can download the song ‘Rough Boy’ now via iTunes (http://smarturl.it/iT-RoughBoyLive) and Spotify (http://smarturl.it/SP_RoughBoyLive).  It is also streaming free online now via Youtube.  The recording’s full track listing is noted below.

Greatest Hits Live tracklisting with location of each track’s recording

  1. Got Me Under Pressure                  New York
  2. Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers          Las Vegas
  3. Cheap Sunglasses                          Paris
  4. Waitin’ For The Bus                         Chicago
  5. Jesus Just Left Chicago                  Chicago
  6. Legs                                                SãoPaolo
  7. Sharp Dressed Man                        Los Angeles
  8. Rough Boy (with Jeff Beck)             London
  9. Pincushion                                       Berlin
  10. La Grange                                        Dallas
  11. I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide                    Vancouver
  12. Tube Snake Boogie                          Rome
  13. Gimme All Your Lovin’                      Houston
  14. Tush                                                 Nashville
  15. Sixteen Tons (with Jeff Beck)           London

More information on Greatest Hits Live is available online now along with all of the band’s latest news and more at:



Website: http://www.zztop.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ZZTop

Twitter: http://twitter.com/zztop



To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.