Styx Announces New Album Coming Soon; Debuts Album’s Lead Single, Video

Courtesy: Alpha Dog 2T/UMe

Styx has a new “mission” in 2017.

The veteran rock act announced this week that it will release its new album The Mission June 16 on CD, vinyl and digital platforms.  The album, which will be released via Alpha Dog 2T/UMe, will be the band’s first new album in 14 years and its 16th overall studio recording.  Audiences can pre-order The Mission online via various online outlets here now.

The album’s lead single ‘Gone, Gone, Gone’ was released Friday at radio and online retail outlets.  The song’s video is streaming online now and can be viewed here.  The song’s high-energy, guitar-driven arrangement will appeal to fans of Foghat and other similar acts with its blues-rock-based sound.

Courtesy: Billboard Magazine/Alpha Dog 2T/UMe

The Mission comes forty years after the release of Grand Illusion and is also a concept record.  Recorded over the course of two years, the 43-minute record tells a fictionalized story of the first manned mission to Mars in the year 2033.

According to the story’s premise, the six-person crew of the nuclear-powered interplanetary spacecraft Khedive, being launched by the Global Space Exploration Program (GSEP) is making its maiden voyage and headed to Mars.

The team consists of the pilot, first officer, engineer and three science experts.  The pilot is described as a “fully-hands-on, seat-of-the-pants born leader,” while the first officer is described as a big brother figure.  The engineer is described as being skeptical of the mission but still does his best.

The band’s lineup on The Mission features Tommy Shaw (vocals/guitar), co-founder James “JY” Young (guitar/vocals), Lawrence Gowan (keyboards/vocals), Chuck Panozzo (bass), Todd Sucherman (drums/percussion) and Ricky Phillips (bass).

The Mission’s track listing is noted below.

Here’s the track listing for THE MISSION:


  1. Overture
  2. Gone Gone Gone
  3. Hundred Million Miles from Home
  4. Trouble at the Big Show
  5. Locomotive
  6. Radio Silence
  7. The Greater Good
  8. Time May Bend
  9. Ten Thousand Ways to Be Wrong
  10. Red Storm
  11. All Systems Stable
  12. Khedive
  13. The Outpost
  14. Mission to Mars


  1. Overture (Side A)
  2. Gone Gone Gone (Side A)
  3. Hundred Million Miles from Home (Side A)
  4. Trouble at the Big Show (Side A)
  5. Locomotive (Side A)
  6. Radio Silence (Side A)
  7. The Greater Good (Side B)
  8. Time May Bend (Side B)
  9. Ten Thousand Ways to Be Wrong (Side B)
  10. Red Storm (Side B)
  11. All Systems Stable (Side B)
  12. Khedive (Side B)
  13. The Outpost (Side B)
  14. Mission to Mars (Side B)

More information on The Mission is available online now along with all of the band’s latest news and more at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.