Charles Lloyd Reveals New Live Recording’s Release Date, Lead Single

Courtesy: Blue Note Records

Veteran jazz musician Charles Lloyd will release his latest live recording this summer.

Passin’ Thru is scheduled to be released Friday, July 14 via Blue Note Records.  Audiences can hear the recording’s title track online now here.

The nearly seven-and-a-half-minute song, whose studio take was originally recorded in 1963–when Lloyd was a member of the Chico Hamilton Quartet–is driven largely by bassist Reuben Rogers. Though, Rogers’ fellow musicians do eventually join in, filling out the song.

Audiences can download ‘Passin’ Thru’ online now here.  The record’s track listing is noted below.

The track listing for Passin’ Thru is as follows:

  1. Dream Weaver
  2. Part 5, Ruminations
  3. Nu Blues
  4. How Can I Tell You
  5. Tagore on the Delta
  6. Passin’ Thru
  7. Shiva Prayer

Joining Lloyd for the performance featured in this recording are Jason Moran (piano), Reuben Rogers (bass) and Eric Harland (drums).  More information on Passin’ Thru is available online now along with all of Charles Lloyd’s latest news at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and interviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.