Prosthetic Records Reveals Release Date, Specs For Friedman’s Next Record

Courtesy: Prosthetic Records

The wait for Marty Friedman’s next new record is almost over.

Friedman will release his next full-length studio recording Wall of Sound Friday, August 4 via Prosthetic Records.  In anticipation of the record’s release, audiences one of the album’s songs, ‘Self Pollution’ is streaming online now.  The song mixes elements of blues, thrash metal and prog-rock for a composition that is certain to hold listeners’ ears.

Friedman, who not only wrote the album’s songs but also produced the album, said in  a recent interview that composing each song was not easy, but said the time and effort paid off in the end.

“It’s a challenge to evolve album after album, especially on your 13th solo album.  Not only as a songwriter, but it is imperative to do new things on my instrument as well,” Friedman said.  “Luckily this is a challenge that I love.  You will find this hard to believe when you hear the density and sheer amount of guitar coming at you from all directions, but in fact all of the final guitar tracks on Wall of Sound were done in nine days.”

He added more than a year was spent composing and fine tuning each song. The result was that quick turnaround.

Guest appearances featured on Wall of Sound include Black Veil Brides member Jinxx, Shiv Mehra of Deafhaven and Jorgen Munkeby of Shining.  Paul Fig (Ghost, Rush, Alice in Chains) engineered the record while Jen Bogren (Lamb of God, Opeth) and legendary Queen producer Mack shared mixing duties. Mack mixed two of the record’s songs, ‘Streetlight’ and ‘For A Friend’ while  Bogren mixed the rest of the record’s songs.

Japanese bassist Kiyoshi handled bass duties throughout the album while veteran session drummer Gregg Bisonette and up-and-comer Anup Sastry shared time behind the kit for this album.

Wall of Sound pre-orders are open now here. The record will be available in five limited edition LP color variants, noted below.


  • White Black Swirl LP – 300 Worldwide
  • Clear Black Smoke LP – 100 Worldwide
  • Glow in The Dark LP – 100 Worldwide
  • Clear Black Swirl LP – European retail exclusive, 100 Europe only
  • White LP – US indie retail exclusive, 200 US only

The record’s track listing is noted below.

Wall Of Sound track listing:
1. Self Pollution
2. Sorrow and Madness (featuring Jinxx of Black Veil Brides)
3. Streetlight
4. Whiteworm
5. For A Friend
6. Pussy Ghost (featuring Shiv Mehra of Deafheaven)
7. The Blackest Rose
8. Something to Fight (featuring Jorgen Munkeby of Shining)
9. The Soldier
10. Miracle
11. Last Lament


More information on Wall of Sound is available online now along with all of Marty Friedman’s latest news and more at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.