Craft Recordings Announces New Isaac Hayes’ Retrospective Release Date, Specs

Courtesy: Craft Recordings/Concord Music Group/Rhino Entertainment

Craft Recordings, a division of Concord Music Group, is paying tribute to music legend Isaac Hayes with a brand new box set.

The company announced this week that it will release The Spirit of Memphis (1962 – 1976) on Sept. 22.  The four-CD collection presents a number of the songs that made Hayes so popular from his early days up to his days as an international superstar.  Those songs include a number of previously unreleased compositions.

The first of the set’s four discs features a number of Hayes’ most well-known and beloved songs crafted with David Porter while Hayes was a producer and songwriter.  Those songs include Carla Thomas’ ‘B-A-B-Y,’ which was recently featured in the blockbuster movie Baby Driver, and Sam & Dave’s ‘Soul Man,’ which celebrates its 50th anniversary this year.

The set’s second disc focuses on Hayes’ work as a solo artist and includes songs such as ‘By The Time I Get To Phoenix,’ ‘Never Can Say Goodbye,’ ‘Do Your Thing’ and the title track from the Shaft soundtrack.

The collection’s third disc is entitled Cover Man and, as it hints, is a collection of some of Hayes’ greatest covers.  Its set list includes Hayes’ take on ‘Windows of the World,’ ‘Stormy Monday,’ ‘Stormy Monday,’ ‘I Stand Accused,’ ‘The Ten Commandments of Love’ and other songs.

Jam Master, the fourth of the set’s primary discs, features extended takes and demos of songs from his classic albums.  The most notable of the disc’s jams is a 33-minute take on ‘Do Your Thing’ while the demos include takes on ‘You’ve Made Me So Very Happy,’ ‘Ain’t No Sunshine’ and the previously unreleased Shaft soundtrack composition ‘Black Militant’s Place.’

Along with its primary four-disc presentation, the forthcoming box set will also feature a replica 7” vinyl single of Hayes’ very first recordings and a hardcover 60-page book.  The book, which is its own retrospective on Hayes’ career, features pictures from that career and an essay titled Respect Yourself: Stax Records and the Soul Explosion by author Robert Gordon.

The book also features interviews with well-known Stax figures Deanie Parker and Jim Stewart and contributions from Floyd Newman, Mickey Gregory, Sam Moore (of Sam & Dave fame), and compilation producer Joe McEwan.

The Spirit of Memphis (1962 – 1976) is a collaborative effort between Concord Music Group and Rhino Entertainment, and is part of a year-long celebration by Stax Records to celebrate the company’s 60th anniversary.  Pre-orders are open now via Amazon.

The full track listing for The Spirit of Memphis (1962 – 1976) is noted below.

*Denotes previously unreleased material
Soul Songwriter, Soul Producer
1. Floyd Newman – Sassy
2. David Porter – Can’t See You When I Want To
3. Carla Thomas – How Do You Quit (Someone You Love)
4. Booker T and the MGs – Boot-leg
5. The Astors – Candy
6. Danny White – Can’t Do Nothing Without You
7. Johnnie Taylor – I Had A Dream
8. Sam & Dave – Hold On! I’m A Comin’
9. Ruby Johnson – I’ll Run Your Hurt Away
10. Carla Thomas – Let Me Be Good To You
11. Mable John – Your Good Thing (Is About To End)
12. Homer Banks – Fighting To Win
13. Carla Thomas – B-A-B-Y
14. William Bell – Never Like This Before
15. The Mad Lads – Patch My Heart
16. Johnnie Taylor – Little Bluebird
17. Charlie Rich – When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
18. Charlie Rich – Love Is After Me
19. Judy Clay – You Can’t Run Away From Your Heart
20. Sam & Dave – Soul Man
21. The Charmels – As Long As I’ve Got You
22. Sam & Dave – I Thank You
23. The Soul Children – The Sweeter He Is (Parts I & II)
24. Billy Eckstine – Stormy
25. David Porter – Can’t See You When I Want To
26. The Emotions – Show Me How
Volt & Enterprise Singles
1. Sir Isaac and The Do-Dads – The Big Dipper
2. Sir Isaac and The Do-Dads – Blue Groove
3. Isaac Hayes – Precious, Precious
4. Isaac Hayes – By The Time I Get To Phoenix
5. Isaac Hayes – The Mistletoe & Me
6. Isaac Hayes – Winter Snow
7. Isaac Hayes – I Stand Accused
8. Isaac Hayes – The Look Of Love
9. Isaac Hayes – Never Can Say Goodbye
10. Isaac Hayes – Theme From “Shaft”
11. Isaac Hayes – Do Your Thing
12. Isaac Hayes – Let’s Stay Together
13. Isaac Hayes and David Porter – Ain’t That Loving You
(For More Reasons Than One)
14. Isaac Hayes and David Porter – Baby I’m-A Want You
15. Isaac Hayes – Theme From “The Men”
16. Isaac Hayes – Rolling Down A Mountainside
17. Isaac Hayes – Joy (Part 1)
18. Isaac Hayes – Wonderful
19. Isaac Hayes – Someone Made You For Me
20. Isaac Hayes – Title Theme (From “Three Tough Guys”)
21. Radio Spot – “You Gotta Have It To Really Be In”
22. Radio Spot – “The Rapper Is Back”
Cover Man
1. Isaac Hayes – When I Fall In Love
2. Isaac Hayes – Walk On By
3. Isaac Hayes – I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself
4. Isaac Hayes – Man’s Temptation
5. Isaac Hayes – Never Gonna Give You Up
6. Isaac Hayes – Windows Of The World*
Recorded Live at Operation PUSH Black Expo,
International Amphitheatre, Chicago, IL – October 1, 1972:
7. Isaac Hayes – The Ten Commandments of Love*
8. Isaac Hayes – Just Want To Make Love To You / Rock Me Baby*
9. Isaac Hayes – Stormy Monday*
10. Isaac Hayes – I Stand Accused*
11. Isaac Hayes – If Loving You Is Wrong
12. Isaac Hayes – His Eye Is On The Sparrow
Jam Master
1. Isaac Hayes – Ike’s Mood I
2. Isaac Hayes – You’ve Made Me So Very Happy*
3. Isaac Hayes – Black Militant’s Place*
4. Isaac Hayes – Ain’t No Sunshine*
5. Isaac Hayes – Hung Up On My Baby* (Extended Jam)
6. Isaac Hayes – Groove-A-Thon* (Extended Jam)
7. Isaac Hayes – Do Your Thing (Extended Jam)
7″ Single
Laura, We’re On Our Last Go-Round
C.C. Rider

More information on The Spirit of Memphis (1962 – 1976) and other titles from Concord Music Group and Craft Recordings is available online now at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.