Shout! Factory Going “Green” This Fall

Courtesy: Shout! Factory

Audiences are going to be seeing “green” this fall, and it’s in a good way.

Shout! Factory will release Green Acres: The Complete Series on DVD Oct. 17, 2017.  Its release marks the first time ever that the 170-episode series has seen a full-series release. The episodes are spread across 24 discs with the box expected to retail for MSRP Of $139.99.  It can be pre-ordered now at a reduced price of 109.99 via Shout! Factory’s online store.

The series follows Oliver Douglas (played by Academy Award® nominee Eddie Albert—The Longest Day, Roman Holiday, General Hospital) as he leaves his New York law firm for what he believes is the peace and serenity of the country.  He brings his wife Lisa (Eva Gabor—The Aristocats, The Rescuers 1 & 2, Gigi) along for the ride, that turns out to be full of hilarity.  From a misunderstanding about someone’s pregnancy to Lisa  constantly yearning for the big city to the everyday to a local resident’s attempt at a marriage proposal gone awry and more, the series’ six-season run is full of family friendly laughs.

Along with all of the laughs that the series is sure to bring in its episodes alone, the forthcoming box set will also include the series’ pilot episode, actual broadcasts of Granby’s Green Acres Radio show, and a pair of in-depth featurettes as bonus material. The full list of the set’s bonus material is noted below.

Bonus Features:

·         Pilot Episode Commentary by Pop Culture Historian Russell Dyball

·         Green Acres Is The Place To Be – Featurette with The Hooterville Handbook Author Stephen Cox

·         Eva Gabor and Eddie Albert on The Merv Griffin Show (1966)

·         Original Granby’s Green Acres Radio Show:

–          Granby Quits His Job (Pilot)

–          Granby Plants a Crop

–          Granby Discovers Electricity

–          Granby Bites the Love Bug

–          Granby Lays an Egg

–          Granby Breaks Down

·         Photo Gallery

·         Inside the Box: The TV History Podcast: “The Rural Purge” – as an alternate audio track/commentary to the last episode of the series

More information on this and other titles from Shout! Factory is available online now at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.