ESPN Giving Football Fans Their Own Special Halloween Treats

Courtesy: ESPN

Football fans will get a special treat of their own throughout the day Tuesday to celebrate Halloween.

ESPN’s NFL Live will present its annual Midseason Awards special at 1:30 p.m. ET on ESPN.  Trey Wingo will host the 90-minute special.  He will be joined by analysts Ryan Clark and Louis Riddick for additional commentary.

Tuesday afternoon’s broadcast will honor the National Football League’s top players, teams, coaches and moments from the first half of the NFL’s 2017 – ’18 season.  The categories featured in the broadcast include:  Defensive and Offensive player of the year, coach of the year, Comeback Player of the year and much more.  The full list of categories and nominees in each is noted below.

2017 NFL Live Midseason Awards nominees:

·        Defensive Player of the Year: Xavier Rhodes (Vikings), Everson Griffen (Vikings), Calais Campbell (Jaguars) and Jalen Ramsey (Jaguars)

·        Offensive Player of the Year (Non-QB): Kareem Hunt (Chiefs), Todd Gurley (Rams), Antonio Brown (Steelers) and Leonard Fournette (Jaguars)

·        Coach of the Year: Sean McVay (Rams), Doug Pederson (Eagles), Mike Zimmer (Vikings) and Andy Reid (Chiefs)

·        Most Surprising Team: Los Angeles Rams, Jacksonville Jaguars, New Orleans Saints and Philadelphia Eagles

·        Sunday Best (game day wardrobe): Antonio Brown (Steelers) vs. Cam Newton (Panthers)

·        Defensive Rookie of the Year: Jourdan Lewis (Cowboys), Marshon Lattimore (Saints), Tre’Davious White (Bills) and TJ Watt (Steelers)

·        Best Offseason Acquisition: Andrew Whitworth (Rams), Brandin Cooks (Patriots), Julius Peppers (Panthers) and Calais Campbell (Jaguars)

·        Offensive Rookie of the Year: Kareem Hunt (Chiefs), Leonard Fournette (Jaguars) and DeShaun Watson (Texans)

·        Play of the Year: Kenny Stills catch (Dolphins), Derek Carr’s game-winning pass to Michael Crabtree (Raiders), David Njoku one-handed diving catch (Browns), Cole Beasley catches pass on back (Cowboys)

·        MVP: Carson Wentz (Eagles), Alex Smith (Chiefs), DeShaun Watson (Texans) and Tom Brady (Patriots)

·        Comeback Player of the Year: Derek Carr (Raiders), Rob Gronkowski (Patriots), Keenan Allen (Chargers) and Jaylon Smith (Cowboys)

·        Best Celebration: Duck Duck Goose (Vikings), Playing Baseball (Eagles), Hide and Seek (Steelers) and Bobsled (Packers)

Later in the evening, The College Football Playoff Selection Committee Weekly Rating will air exclusively on ESPN at 7 p.m.  Tuesday night’s broadcast is the committee’s first in-season ranking this season.

The rankings will be broadcast weekly on Tuesday nights right up to the final ranking at noon Dec. 3 on ESPN.  The Dec. 3 broadcast will also include the announcement of the 2017 – ’18 College Football playoffs.

Rece Davis will host each week’s rankings broadcast and will be joined by analysts Paul Finebaum, Joey Galloway, Kirk Herbstreit, Booker McFarland, Jesse Palmer and David Pollack.

Along with the rankings announcement, each week’s broadcast will also include an interview with College Football Playoff Selection Committee Chair Kirby Hocutt, reaction from coaches to the rankings discussion on each announcement.

More information on ESPN’s football coverage is available online now along with all of the latest football headlines at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.