Saxon Announces New Retrospective, Live Recording; Joining Judas Priest Live

Courtesy: Chipster PR

Saxon will release an extensive new hits collection this fall.

BMG will release the band’s new anthology Decade of the Eagle on Friday, Dec. 1.  The compilation will feature 34 tracks taken from the band’s first nine albums and liner notes from front man Biff Byford outlining that period of the band’s career.  It will also feature rare and classic pictures of the band from that period.

Byford said of the albums represented in this latest compilation that they represented a key moment in the band’s life, adding they are still as important today as they were in their original release.

“These are the albums from a time in the eighties that moved a generation of rock fans from around the world, when British rock was once again at the front,” Byford said.  “Great times – never to be forgotten and still reverberating to this day.”

Along with its standard CD  and LP release, Decade of the Eagle will also be released on a deluxe limited edition 4 LP and deluxe 2 CD platform.  Pre-orders are open now here.  The compilation’s full track listing is noted below.

1 Stallions Of The Highway
2  Big Teaser
3  Backs To The Wall
4  Militia Guard
5  Wheels Of Steel
6  747 (Strangers In The Night)
7  Suzie Hold On
8  Motorcycle Man (live)
9  Strong Arm Of The Law
10  Heavy Metal Thunder
11  20,000ft (live)
12  Dallas 1PM
13  And The Bands Played On
14  Never Surrender
15  Denim And Leather
16  Fire In the Sky (live)
17  Princess Of The Night
18  Power & The Glory
19  This Town Rocks
20  The Eagle Has Landed
21  Midas Touch
22  Sailing To America
23  Crusader
24  Devil Rides Out
25  Back On The Streets
26  Rockin’ Again
27  Rock N’ Roll Gypsy
28  Broken Heroes
29  Waiting For The Night
30  Rock The Nations
31  Northern Lady
32  Battle Cry
33  Ride Like The Wind
34 Red Alert
1LP & 1CD Tracklist:
1 Backs To The Wall
2 Wheels Of Steel
3 747 (Strangers In The Night)
4 Strong Arm Of The Law
5 Denim And Leather
6 Power And The Glory
7 Sailing To America
8 Rock N’Roll Gypsy
9 Waiting For The Night
10 Ride Like The Wind

Courtesy: Saxon

Along with the new retrospective, the band will also soon release its latest live recording 10 Years of Denim and Leather on CD/DVD combo pack. Pre-orders for that recording are also open now.  The band’s most recent live recording Let Me Feel Your Power was released Oct. 28, 2016.

Courtesy: Judas Priest

The band will give audiences the chance to experience its live show in person next spring when it hits the road for the Firepower 2018 tour, headlined by Judas Priest. The tour, which will be in support of the band’s forthcoming album Firepower, launches March 13 in Wilkes-Barr, PA.  Black Star Riders will serve as support alongside Saxon.

The tour’s current schedule is noted below.

Confirmed tour dates:
3/13/2018 Wilkes Barre, PA  Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza
3/15/2018 Youngstown, OH  Covelli Centre
3/17/2018 Uniondale, NY  Nassau Coliseum
3/18/2018 Washington, DC  The Anthem
3/20/2018 Newark, NJ  Prudential Center
3/22/2018 Uncasville, CT  Mohegan Sun Arena
3/25/2018 Ottawa, ON  The Arena at TD Place
3/27/2018 London, ON  Budweiser Gardens
3/28/0208 Oshawa, ON  Tribute Communities Centre
3/30/2018 Orillia, ON  Casino Rama
3/31/2018 Detroit, MI  Detroit Masonic Temple
  4/3/2018 Milwaukee, WI  Riverside Theater
  4/5/2018 Green Bay, WI  Resch Center
  4/8/2018 Bloomington, IL  Grossinger Motors Arena
4/10/2018 Casper, WY  Casper Events Center
4/11/2018 Loveland, CO  Budweiser Events Center
4/15/2018 Kent, WA  ShoWare Center
4/17/2018 Portland, OR  Veterans Memorial Coliseum
4/19/2018 San Francisco  The Warfield
4/22/2018 Los Angeles, CA  Microsoft Theater
4/24/2018 Phoenix, AZ  Comerica Theatre
4/26/2018 Tulsa, OK  BOK Center
4/28/2018 Dallas, TX  The Bomb Factory
4/29/2018 Sugarland, TX  Smart Financial Centre
  5/1/2018 San Antonio, TX  Freeman Coliseum

More information on Decade of the Eagle is available online now along with all of Saxon’s latest news and more at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.