NPR Streaming ‘Both Sides Of The Sky’ In Whole

Photo Credit: Mike Berkofsky

Next Friday, March 9, Experience Hendrix, LLC and Legacy Recordings will release the next collection of previously unreleased Jimi Hendrix songs, Both Sides of the Sky in stores and online.  In anticipation of its release, National Public Radio is streaming the album in whole online now.

The 13-song album is streaming via NPR’s First Listen.  It is the finale of the companies’ current trilogy of what are considered some of Hendrix’s most significant, previously unissued work.  The trilogy’s other two albums are the previously released Valleys of Neptune (2010) and People, Hell and Angels (2013), both of which reached the top 5 of Billboard’s Top 100 chart.

The songs featured in Both Sides of the Sky were recorded between 1968 and 1970, and feature guest appearances by the likes of Stephen Stills, Johnny Winter and Lonnie Youngblood.  Jimi’s longtime producer Eddie Kramer co-produced the record alongside Jimi’s sister Janie and friend John McDermott.

Both Sides of the Sky‘s track listing is noted below. Pre-orders are open now.

Both Sides of the Sky tracklist:

1)    Mannish Boy*

2)    Lover Man*

3)    Hear My Train A Comin’*

4)    Stepping Stone*

5)    $20 Fine*+

6)    Power Of Soul^

7)    Jungle*

8)    Things I Used to Do#

9)    Georgia Blues++

10)  Sweet Angel*

11)  Woodstock*+

12)  Send My Love To Linda*

13)  Cherokee Mist*

*Previously unreleased

^ Previously unavailable extended version

+Featuring Stephen Stills

#Featuring Johnny Winter

++Featuring Lonnie Youngblood

Produced by Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer and John McDermott for Experience Hendrix, L.L.C.

More information on Both Sides of the Sky is available online now along with all of the latest Hendrix news at:






To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.