Rouge Records “Unearths” Musical Treasure For Record Store Day

Courtesy: Rouge Records

Rouge Records is set to unearth a new musical treasure next month.

The fledgling Detroit, Michigan-based independent label will release the never before released record The Secret Sessions from rock super group Pompeii on April 21, 2018, Record Store Day.  The record was originally recorded by the one-off act between 1976 and 1978 after drummer Corky Laing revealed they were going to drop him. Through much time and effort, Ian Hunter, Andy Fraser, Steve Hunter (The Alive Cooper Band) and Lee Michaels were brought on board to help record the record.  Bob Ezrin was tapped to produce.

During recording, some of the band members left due to other commitments, leading Mick Ronson and Felix Pappalardi to replace the departed members and help finish the record.  Fast forward to the 21st Century, and a new deal to have Rouge Records release the never before released songs.  In anticipation of its release, three of the 10 songs featured in the original recording — ‘Easy Money,’ ‘Silent Movie’ and ‘Growing Old With Rock & Roll’ — were re-recorded by Laing’s current band, which includes Chris Shutters and Mark Mikel. Those songs, along with the new song ‘Knock Me Over’ (also recorded by Laing and company) have been included as bonus tracks.

The bonus songs aren’t the only bonuses on this record.  Guest appearances by the likes of Eric Clapton (Cream), Leslie West (Mountain), Dickey Betts (The Allman Brothers Band), John Sebastian (The Lovin’ Spoonful), Todd Rundgren and others add even more to the record’s presentation.  It’s full track listing is noted below.

Track Listing:
1 Easy Money (Corky Laing, Ian Hunter)
2 The Best Thing (Corky Laing)
3 I Ain’t No Angel (Corky Laing, Ian Hunter)
4 I Hate Dancin’ (Corky Laing)
5 The Outsider (Ian Hunter)
6 Silent Movie (Corky Laing, Ian Hunter)
7 Growin’ Old With Rock N’ Roll (Corky Laing)
8 On My Way To Georgia (Corky Laing, Leslie West, Mick Jones)
9 Just When I Needed You Most (Randy Van Warmer)
10 Lowdown Freedom (Billy Joe Shaver)

BONUS TRACKS included on digital download card:
Easy Money (2017 Re-Record)
Silent Movie (2017 Re-Record)
Growing Old with Rock & Roll (2017 Re-Record)
Knock Me Over (New Song by Corky Laing, Chris Shutters, Mike Mikel)

The record will be available exclusively on vinyl for Record Store Day.  More information on this and other titles from Rouge Records is available online at:




To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.