Marty Friedman Announces Release Date, Specs For New Live Recording; Debuts Clip From Recording

Courtesy: Prosthetic Records

Famed virtuoso guitarist Marty Friedman has a new live recording on the way, and in anticipation of its release, a clip has been released from the recording.

Friedman’s new live recording One Mad M.F. Live!! is scheduled to be released October 19 via Prosthetic Records.  Originally recorded April 14, 2018 on the last date of Friedman’s “Wall Of Sound Tour,” the recording will be available on CD, digital and special deluxe 2LP gatefold set with glow-in-the-dark wax as one pressing.  Other vinyl pressings will be in black sparkle and clear splatter.

In anticipation of the recording’s release, a from the performance of Friedman performing his song ‘Whiteworm’ has been released at  The song is streaming online at Friedman’s official bandcamp site. Pre-orders for the recording are open now at Friedman’s official store.

Friedman shared his thoughts on his new recording in a recent interview, noting that it gives audiences a lot to anticipate.

“This live album is a tip of the hat to the live albums that blew my mind when I was a kid,” Friedman said.  “The musical content itself is modern and atomic-powered, but the presentation is decidedly old-school.  The pacing of the show, the audience participation stuff, the special live arrangements of the songs, these are the things that got me all jacked up as a kid.  I like to give the audience the feeling that they are really getting something unique, something that only happens at THEIR show, not just a recital  of the songs exactly as they know them.  There are lots of happy accidents, once in a lifetime ad libs, things that could have only happened because we were high on that particular audience’s energy.”

Friedman added he felt that the performance presented in this recording achieved the goal for which he aimed in the first place.

“I like to lose myself in giving energy to the audience,” Friedman said.  “I want everyone to go home feeling like they were injected with a shot of positive vibes.  I think we captured that on the record.”

Courtesy: Prosthetic Records

In celebration of his new live recording’s release, Friedman will hold a special performance October 21 at the famed Viper Room in Los Angeles, California.  It will be his only live U.S. performance of the year.  Tickets for the show are available here.

The full track listing for One Bad M.F. Live!! is noted below.

Complete track listing for ONE BAD M.F. Live!!:
1. Street Demon
2. Elixir
3. Amagi Goe
4. Inferno
5. Self Pollution
6. Devil Take Tomorrow
7. Mutation Medley (featuring Asche zu Asche, My Oh My, Forbidden City, Tornado of Souls)
8. Ripped
9. Whiteworm
10. Undertow
11. Dragon Mistress
12. Kaeritakunatta Yo

Hyper Doom
Stigmata Addiction

One Bad M.F. Live!!  follows the release of Wall of Sound (2017).  The album debuted at #12 on Billboard’s Heatseekers Chart.  Friedman said the album is one of the best that he has ever created.

“I’ve had albums that have charted higher, sold more and got more attention over my career, but Wall of Sound is the album I’ve been striving to make ever since I picked up a guitar,” Friedman said.  “I have an almost unhealthy amount of pride toward that album.  The thrill I get from playing the Wall of Sound stuff live is something that I wanted documented, and that’s what One Bad M.F. Live!! is.”

More information on One Bad M.F. Live!! is available online now along with all of Marty Friedman’s latest news and more at:





To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.