Overkill Continues “Welcome To The Garden State” Docu-Series With New Video

Courtesy: Nuclear Blast Records

Overkill has released another video in its ongoing “Welcome to the Garden State” docu-series.

The latest video in the series, which is being used to promote the band’s forthcoming album The Wings of War, finds the band this time, discussing the difference between the West Coast sound and the East Coast sound.

Front man Bobby Blitz explained in a recent interview.

“This healthy competition, it wasn’t something that had roots,” Blitz said.  “It was pretty f****** new.  That was the beauty of it.  You couldn’t even steal something from someone else.  It was still being created simultaneous while it was being created in Germany, UK and South America.   As time has gone by, it has become a formula, but back then, it was just, ‘this sounds good’ and it was the same recipe that made it sound good.  So that was the cool camaraderie that we all kinda knew where the other one came from by looking them in the eyes.  They didn’t need to say anything.  You just knew.”

Overkill’s new discussion is just the latest from the band in the series.  The series’ first video, streaming here, features Overkill’s members talking about the band’s name and how it came together.  Its second video features the band members their own early influences and Overkill’s place in the industry.

The band debuted the video for the song ‘Head of a Pin‘ on Friday.  The song is taken from the band’s forthcoming album The Wings of War.  Front man Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth said in an interview, that this song took some time to go from concept to creation.

“‘Head of a Pin’ took a long time to come together,” Ellsworth said.  “It is probably the tune that went through the most changes, and the last one I finished.  Looking back on its development, the time invested was well worth it.  the tonality of the guitar shines on it, and the song goes “other places,” traditional with a touch of the down-low-dirty riff, and a sing-along chorus…personally one of my favorites of The Wings of War.”

The video’s premiere comes more than a month after the band debuted the album’s lead single ‘Last Man Standing‘ and less than a month after the band debuted the first two videos in its new ‘Welcome To The Garden State’ documentary series.

The Wings of War will be available on a variety of platforms, all of which are noted below.  Pre-orders for The Wings of War are open now.

The Wings Of War will be available for purchase in the following formats:

  • CD Digipak
  • CD Digi + T-Shirt + Poster Bundle
  • Green Cassette
  • Grey Vinyl (limited to 1,500)
  • Green with Yellow Splatter vinyl (limited to 500)
Please note that imported items will ship

The full track listing for The Wings of War is noted below.

Below is the track listing for The Wings Of War
1              Last Man Standing
2              Believe In The Fight
3              Head Of A Pin
4              Bat Shit Crazy
5              Distortion
6              A Mother’s Prayer
7              Welcome To The Garden State
8              Where Few Dare To Walk
9              Out On The Road-Kill
10           Hole In My Soul

More information on The Wings of War is available online now along with all of Overkill’s latest news and more at:






To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.