Allegaeon Announces New LP Specs; Debuts Video For Album’s Lead Single

Courtesy: Metal Blade Records

Metal outfit Allegaeon announced the first details for its new album this week.

The band announced its new album, titled Apoptosis, is scheduled for release on Apr. 19 via Metal Blade Records. The 11-song record (the band’s fifth full-length studio recording) will be released on a variety of platforms, all of which are noted below.

– where the album can also be pre-ordered in the following formats:

–opaque grey vinyl (US retail exclusive – limited to 500 copies)
–black / white A/B side vinyl (US webstore exclusive – limited to 250 copies)
–oxblood / milky clear A/B side vinyl (US webstore exclusive – limited to 250 copies)
–clear w/ black smoke vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
–silver w/ oxblood splatter vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
–transparent purple w/ white and black splatter vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 100 copies)

Courtesy: Metal Blade Records

The album’s full track listing is noted below.

Apoptosis track-listing
1. Parthenogenesis
2. Interphase // Meiosis
3. Extremophiles (B)
4. The Secular Age
5. Exothermic Chemical Combustion
6. Extremophiles (A)
7. Metaphobia
8. Tsunami and Submergence
9. Colors of the Currents
10. Stellar Tidal Disruption
11. Apoptosis

Apoptosis marks the first recording for new bassist Brandon Michael with the band.  Front man Riley McShane talked about Michael’s addition to the band’s lineup in a recent interview.

“Musically, Brandon brings a huge new dimension,” McShane said.  “He has this wide breadth of music knowledge and stylistic proficiency that he draws from with excellent taste, and this makes a lot of the songs on Apoptosis come to life.”

McShane also addressed the album’s lyrical and musical content in his interview.

“Thematically, this record is all about contrast, and the music reflects that perfectly,” McShane said.  “The vocals are heavier than ever, but there are also more  clean sections.  The drums are faster than ever, but also more dynamic, and the guitar playing is lower and slower than on most previous albums, but also provides long, melodic and beautiful sections throughout.”

One of the most notable of the changes in the guitar work comes in the song ‘Colors of the Currents.’  Classical guitarist Christina Sandsengen offered her talents on the composition alongside Allegaeon’s Greg Burgess.

Fellow Allegaeon guitarist Michael Stancel talked about the duet.

“On this record, I was open to new ideas that we might not have used in the past,” Stancel said.  “Rather than deleting something because it’s not ‘Allegaeon-y’ enough, I would take a step back and see if that idea fit the song and decide if it was worth keeping.  With that mentality came some of my favorite songs, because I was less worried about if it fit into our old sound.”

In anticipation of Apoptosis‘ release, the band debuted the video for the album’s lead single ‘Stellar Tidal Disruption’ this week.  The video crosses footage of the band performing its new single with computer generated sequences of items such as outer space, a volcano erupting and smoke pouring from a factory’s smoke stacks.  The video is streaming online now here, while the song by itself is streaming here.

Pre-orders are open now for Apoptosis.  More information on the album is available online now along with the band’s latest news and more at:






To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at








Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.