Reckless Kelly Announces New Album Specs; Debuts LP’s Lead Single

Courtesy: Thirty Tigers

Reckless Kelly will release its new album this year.

The band made the announcement Thursday.  The band will release the double album — American Girls / American Jackpot — May 22 through Thirty Tigers.

The band debuted the lead single from American Girls, ‘I Only See You With My Eyes Closed‘ Thursday.  The four-minute opus is everything that audiences have come to expect from Reckless Kelly over the years, in terms of its musical and lyrical content.

The band members discussed the song’s creation in a recent interview.

“I wrote the beginnings of a second verse on a long van ride after being woken up by the church bells next door in Nuremberg, Germany, and out of one of those lucid dreams where you don’t really know whether you’re awake or not,” said band founder and front man Willy Braun.”

Braun continued, “I wanted the song to have the same feel as those dreams when you drift from one thing to another, so Cody [Braun, Willy’s brother and Reckless Kelly co-founder] and Charlie Sexton played some spooky ambient stuff on top of Jeff Crosby’s main guitar track and we faded them all in and out to try to get that lucid half-dreaming half-awake effect.  There’s a lot going on, but Jim Scott did an excellent job mixing the track to capture that dreamlike vibe.”

The track listing for American Girls American Jackpot is noted below.

Track Listing:

American Girls
1. I Only See You With My Eyes Closed
2. American Girls
3. All Over Again (Break Up Blues)
4. Miss Marissa
5. Lonesome On My Own
6. Anyplace That’s Wild
7. Lost Inside The Groove
8. No Dancing In Bristol
9. Don’t Give Up On Love
10. My Home Is Where Your Heart Is

American Jackpot
1. North American Jackpot
2. Thinkin’ ‘Bout You All Night
3. Tom Was A Friend Of Mine
4. 42
5. Mona
6. Another New Year’s Day
7. Grandpa Was A Jack Of All Trades
8. Put On Your Brave Face Mary
9. Company Of Kings
10. Goodbye Colorado

The band launched a tour in support of its forthcoming album Thursday at the Mile 0 Fest in Key West, FL.  The band’s current tour is scheduled to run through March 14 in Lubbock, TX.  It features performances in cities, such as Jackson, MS; Fort Smith AR and Oklahoma City, OK.

After its initial run, the band will take some time to rest and recharge before performing live June 6 in Cambridge, ID.  The band’s current live schedule is noted below.


Tour Dates:
2/6: Liberty Hall – Tyler, TX
2/7: Hank’s Texas Grill – McKinney, TX
2/14: The Dirty South – Angleton, TX
2/15: Poodies Hilltop Roadhouse – Spicewood, TX
2/27: Duling Hall – Jackson, MS
2/28: Manship Theatre – Baton Rouge, LA
3/5: TempleLive – Fort Smith, AR
3/6: The Brendon McLarty Memorial Foundation Concert – Oklahoma City, OK
3/14: Cook’s Garage – Lubbock, TX
6/6: Washington County Fairgrounds – Cambridge, ID

More information on Reckless Kelly’s new album, tour and more is available online at:





To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.