Chatham County Line Debuts ‘Strange Fascination’ Lyric Video

Courtesy: YepRoc Records

Chatham County line debuted the lyric video for its latest single this month.

The band debuted the lyric video for the title track from its forthcoming new album Strange Fascination March 18.  The song’s musical arrangement lends itself to comparisons to works from similar acts, such as Nickel Creek and Reckless Kelly.  Its lyrical content meanwhile accompanies that simple, soft arrangement, seemingly presenting a message about wanting love and the simple things in life. The song features guest vocals from Sharon Van Etten.

‘Strange Fascination’ is the second single from its eponymous album.  The band debuted the album’s lead single ‘Station to Station‘ last month.

The band’s ninth full-length studio recording, Strange Fascination is the final record featuring Chatham County Lines’ founding member and banjo player Chandler Holt.  It marks the band’s first lineup change since 2001 and the first time that any of the band’s albums has ever featured drums on every track, provided by longtime CCL friend Dan Hall.

Band member Dave Wilson (guitar/vocals/songwriter) talked about that stylistic change in a recent interview.

“We’ve had drums on several albums, most notably 2010’s Wildwood, and our audiences always responded well to those tunes,” he said..

Wilson and his band mates — John Teer (mandolin/fiddle/vocals) and Greg Readling (bass/pedal steel/piano) — self-produced Strange Fascination at Mitch Easter’s Fidelitorium Recordings in Kernersville, NC.  Yan Westerlund (Mipso, Phil Cook” assisted with drum recordings for the album in-studio.Chris Boerner (Hiss Golden Messenger, The Foreign Exchange) mixed the album.

Strange Fascination was originally scheduled for release May 15 through YepRoc Records. Events happening around the world have led the band to push up that date to April 24. A record release show is scheduled to take place June 6 at the North Carolina Museum of Art.

Pre-orders are open now for Strange Fascination.  The album’s track listing is noted below.


Strange Fascination Tracklisting:
1. Oh Me Oh My
2. Station to Station
3. Strange Fascination
4. Free Again
5. The Eagle and The Boy
6. Leave This World
7. Guitar (for Guy Clark)
8. Queen Anne’s Gold
9. Nothing

More information on Chatham County Line’s new album, tour and more is available online now at:






To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.