Lamb of God Debuts New LP’s Third Single, Single’s Lyric Video

Courtesy: Epic Records

Lamb of God has debuted the latest single from its forthcoming self-titled album.

The band debuted the new single ‘New Colossal Hate‘ Wednesday alongside its lyric video.  The song’s musical arrangement is everything that fans have come to expect from the band, with its powerhouse shredding and equally precise timekeeping.  Its lyrical content is just as powerful as its musical content, according to information provided about the new song.  The information states that the song’s lyrical content is meant to address the mistreatment of people from ethnic minorities.

Guitarist Willie Adler spoke in a recent interview about the creation of the song’s arrangement.

“‘New Colossal Hate’ came out of our very first writing session in Maine,” he said.  “[Guitarist] Mark [Morton], our producer Josh Wilbur and I were at a super cool studio in South Windham called Halo.  An absolutely beautiful spot run by some of the best people I’ve ever met.  I’m pretty sure ‘New Colossal Hate’ grew from a few different demos I had.  You know, like pats of a car. However, as it started to take shape, it quickly became my favorite song on the record.  Please enjoy this banger of a tune.  It holds a very special place in my heart.”

Audiences who are prone to epileptic seizures are cautioned against taking in the song’s lyric video due to the excessive flashing images.

‘New Colossal Hate’ is just one of Lamb of God‘s lyrically heavy songs.  According to the noted information, the album also takes on issues, such as the nation’s opioid crisis (‘On The Hook’), school shootings (‘Reality Bath’) and social injustice (‘Routes’) throughout the course of its body.

‘New Colossal Hate’ is the third single so far from Lamb of God.  It follows the release of the album’s second single, ‘Memento Mori‘ and the album’s lead single, ‘Checkmate.’

According to front man Randy Blythe, ‘Memento Mori’ presents its own social commentary.

“Months before the COVID-19 outbreak occurred, I wrote ‘Memento Mori’ as a reminder to myself to be not be consumed by the ominpresent electronic harbingers of doom that surround us – cell phones, computers and television screens,” he said.  “While these devices can be useful tools, and it is important to stay informed, it is equally important to remain engaged with the real, physical world we live in, not just digitally filtered representations of reality.”

Blythe went on to talk about the song’s video in his statement.

“I wrote the narrative video treatment a few months ago to illustrate how warped and myopic our mental states can become when we fail to remain engaged with that reality – if all you pay attention to is catastrophe, then soon you will begin to see monsters everywhere,” he said.  “The actual monsters we used in the video are Sinisteria, a local Richmond, Virginia haunted house/dark performance troupe I met on the street at our annual Krampus Nacht parade.  Richmond has a strong tradition of loud music and weird costumed monsters working hand-in-hand to make salient points (we are the birthplace of Gwar, after all), and I couldn’t be more pleased with the results.”

“Music has always been there for me, raising my spirits during hard times, and it is my hope that this song’s positive message will do the same for fans of our music right now and beyond,” he added.  “The release date for the tune was set a good while ago, but the timing seems eerily prescient to me now.  So enjoy the song and video, and remember to step away from the screens for a bit — real life is waiting for you.  We only get one shot, so don’t waste this day.  Everyone be well, keep a cool head, take care of yourselves and take care of EACH OTHER.”

Guitarist Mark Morton expanded on Blythe’s comments about the song’s creation.

“I had been sitting with the music for the intro and the post chorus for quite a while,” he said.  “I was trying to develop those two parts as separate songs altogether and was a little stumped particularly with the intro piece.  Me, Willie, and Josh Wilbur (producer) were doing demos in the studio, and the idea came up to try to mash those parts into the same tune, and everything just took off.  It was one of those times where once I knew what we were trying to do, the riffs just kind of fell out of me like they were writing themselves like they were writing themselves.  It’s always a crazy feeling when that happens.  Vocally, Randy heard the intro and said he instantly got a throwback Sisters of Mercy type vibe from it and he took off from there.”

In talking about ‘Checkmate,’ Morton had the following to say:

“‘Checkmate’ brings together all the components of the Lamb of God sound that we’ve been developing over the last two decades, but with the ambition and ferocity that comes with the start of a new chapter for our band,” he said.  “Re-energized and reignited, this is Lamb of God 2020.  We’ve never been more excited.”

Blythe expanded on his comments.

“Putting only our names on it is a statement,” Blythe said.  “This is Lamb of God. Here and now.”

Lamb of God was produced by Josh Wilbur (Soulfly, Hatebreed, Megadeth, Gojira), and features guest appearances from the likes of Hatebreed front man Jamey Jasta and Testament front man Chuck Billy.  The album’s track listing is noted below.


Lamb Of God tracklisting:
1. Memento Mori
2. Checkmate
3. Gears
4. Reality Bath
5. New Colossal Hate
6. Resurrection Man
7. Poison Dream (feat. Jamey Jasta)
8. Routes (feat. Chuck Billy)
9. Bloodshot Eyes
10. On The Hook

Pre-orders are open now for Lamb of God. The announcement was made recently that the album’s release date has been pushed back to June 19 as a result of the impact of the COVID-19 impact.

More information on Lamb of God’s upcoming live dates, its new album, single, news and more is available online now at:






To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.