Derek Sherinian Debuts Video For ‘Them Changes’ Cover

Courtesy: InsideOut Music

Derek Sherinian debuted the video for his latest single this week.

Sherinian debuted the video for his cover of the Buddy Miles classic ‘Them Changes‘ Sept. 4.  The song is the latest single from Sherinian’s forthcoming album The Phoenix, which is scheduled for release Sept. 18 through InsideOut Music.  It follows the debut of the album’s singles ‘Dragonfly,’ and ‘Empyrean Sky.’

The video for the group’s cover of ‘Them Changes’ features a guest appearance by famed blues rock guitarist Joe Bonamassa.  The black-and-white-shot video features, Sherinian, Bonamassa and their fellow musicians in studio recording the song.

Sherinian and company’s rendition of the song largely stays true to its source material.  The most noticeable difference in the rendition is the exclusion of the horns that are used in the original song.  Miles’ original is also more of a funk-style song while Sherinian and company took a decidedly more blues-based sound, with Bonamassa shredding the solos a la Jimi Hendrix.  The addition of Sherinian’s keyboard work and drummer Simon Phillips’ time keeping adds a bit of a Deep Purple vibe to the song.

Pre-orders for The Phoenix are open now.  Eight songs will make up the body of The Phoenix, among them a cover of Buddy Miles’ ‘Them Changes.’  It will be available as a limited edition digipack CD, 180-gram LP/CD combo pack and digital album.  The record’s track listing is noted below.


1. The Phoenix
2. Empyrean Sky
3. Clouds of Ganymede
4. Dragonfly
5. Temple of Helios
6. Them Changes
7. Octopus Pedigree
8. Pesadelo


The Phoenix will feature guest appearances by figures, such as bassists Billy Sheehan, Tony Franklin and Jimmy Johnson and guitarists Joe Bonamassa, Zakk Wylde, Steve Vai, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (Sons of Apollo, Guns N’ Roses), and Kiko Loureiro (Megadeth).

Sherinian said of bringing Loureiro on board for the new album, “Kiko and I have known one another for about 20 years, but this is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to play with him.”

More information on Derek Sherinian’s new album is available along with all of his latest news at:






To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.