Phil Campbell & The Bastard Sons Debuts ‘Son of a Gun’ Video; Announces Release Date, Specs For New LP

Courtesy: Nuclear Blast Records

Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons debuted the video for its latest single this week.

The band debuted the video for its new single ‘Son of a Gun‘ Friday.  The song (and its video) is the first from the band’s forthcoming album We’re The BastardsPre-orders for the album are open now.  The album is scheduled for release Nov. 13 through Nuclear Blast Records.

Front man Neil Starr talked about the album in a recent interview.

“It’s definitely great to know that we have an audience now,” said Starr. “We know there are people that want to hear it, but the truth is that we just had fun with it. Once again, we made the record we wanted to make and it’s been really exciting. It was awesome to take our minds off everything and just concentrate on recording a kick-ass album for the fans to enjoy”

The ‘Son off a Gun’ video features the Starr, Campbell and the rest of the band’s members — Todd Campbell (guitar), Tyla Campbell (bass), and Dane Campbell (drums) — performing the new single in a dimly lit warehouse backdrop and crosses that with what looks like a gunsight focused on Starr at times as he sings.

The song’s musical arrangement is a straight forward, up-tempo composition that is grounded in its no nonsense guitar riffs, solid time keeping and heavy bass.  Its lyrical content come across as a social commentary of sorts.

We’re The Bastards will release on CD; limited edition digi-pack with four bonus tracks; and 2LP vinyl.  The 2LP set will feature four different color patterns: black, orange/black splatter, gold, and sparkle.  Additionally, it will release as a digital album.  Digital pre-saves are open now.

The album’s track listing is noted below.

The tracklist reads as follows:
1. We’re The Bastards
2. Son Of A Gun
3. Promises Are Poison
4. Born To Roam
5. Animals
6. Bite My Tongue
7. Desert Song
8. Keep Your Jacket On
9. Lie To Me
10. Riding Straight To Hell
11. Hate Machine
12. Destroyed
13. Waves

Bonus tracks [limited digipak]:
14. Big Mouth (Live)
15. Freak Show (Live)
16. Dark Days (Live)
17. Rock ‘n’ Roll (Live)

More information on Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons’ new album, single and video is available online now along with all of Campbell and company’s latest news at:






To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.