Ty Treyhern Debuts ‘Better Off’ Video

Courtesy: Earshot Media

Independent alt-rock artist Ty Trehern debuted the video for his latest single this month.

Trehern debuted the video for his new single ‘Better Off‘ Sept. 3.  The song is featured in his forthcoming album Dear Dichotomy, which is scheduled for release Oct. 23.  The song and video’s debut comes more than a month after Treyhern debuted the album’s lead single, ‘The Air,’ which he debuted in late July through Substream magazine.

The ‘Better Off’ video features Treyhern and a woman in a variety of situations in which they are facing the difficulties in their relationship.  He discussed how the visuals played into the song’s lyrical theme during a recent interview.

“’Better Off’ is a song that explores that difference by talking about coming to terms with the need to be alone and the process of communicating that with a significant other,” he said. “Sometimes, we find ourselves in relationships that hold us back from things we want in our lives, whether it be a dream, a personal goal, a break from routine, or a sense of self. This can be hard for someone to realize and deal with, especially when you still care about the other person and have to accept the fact that while you may still love them and want to be with them, there is a difference between wants and needs.”

“For the music video, I wanted to involve a narrative that was unique to the video while still staying true to the song,” added Treyhern. “I’m so fortunate to have been able to work with Alexander Breaux, who introduced a ton of different ideas and concepts to the project and brought everything to life in such a special way. We managed to shoot everything over three days with an extremely small DIY setup and had such a blast doing it. I couldn’t be more proud of what we were able to create and can’t wait to work with him on more projects in the future.”

‘Better Off’ is available to stream and download through Spotify and Apple Music.

The full track listing for Dear Dichotomy is noted below.



Track listing:

1. Inside

2. Dear Dichotomy

3. The Air

4. Better Off

5. Sleep

6. The House You Built

7. Run Away

8. Tell Me

9. Places

10. Valediction (An Elegy)

More information on Trehern’s new single and album is available along with all of his latest news at:






To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.