Jake Allen Debuts New Single, ‘On The Run’

Courtesy: Six Degrees Records

Independent singer-songwriter Jake Allen debuted his latest single over the weekend.

Allen debuted his new single ‘On The Run‘ Friday.  The song is the second single from Allen’s forthcoming album Affirmation Day — his fourth album — which is scheduled for release Oct. 16 through Six Degrees Records.  The single’s release comes a month after Allen debuted the album’s lead single, ‘Rising Tide.’

The musical arrangement featured in ‘On The Run’ will appeal to fans of John Mayer.  That is due to Allen’s finger picking style and his vocal delivery style.  The song’s lyrical theme comes across as an introspective piece that centers on the all-too-familiar topic of a romantic relationship.

As with the album’s other songs, this song was inspired by Allen’s experiences in his most recent tours of Europe, Russia, China and Japan.  He noted of ‘Rising Tide’ for example, the song “is about the encounters I’ve had throughout my world travels that have shined a light on certain human conditions, and even more so, the American condition. This deeply embedded idea of progress by any means necessary kept bothering me. It’s disappointing to see people out there bulldozing their way to success without thinking about who and what they’re hurting along the way. This song just acknowledges that tendency and tries to be a reminder of its imminent consequences. Everybody has their own rising tides in their lives. Can we catch them before they drown us is real challenge we face.”

Pre-orders are open for Affirmation Day.  Allen is donating 20 percent of proceeds from pre-order sales and online merchandise sales to the Live Blue Foundation. The agency focuses on the impact of water on a person’s mental health.

The track listing for Affirmation Day is noted below.

Track Listing

  1. Affirmation Day
  2. More Than Meets The Eye
  3. Only You
  4. On The Run
  5. Living Ghost
  6. Prague 6
  7. Clear
  8. Rising Tide
  9. Indigo Son
  10. Things We’ll Never Find
  11. Two Faced
  12. I’ll See You On The Other Side

More information on Jake Allen’s new album is available along with all of his latest news at:


Website: http://www.jakeallenmusic.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jakeallenmusic


To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and ‘Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and review in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.