Fates Warning Debuts ‘Now Comes The Rain’ Lyric Video

Courtesy: Metal Blade Records

Fates Warning debuted the video for its latest single this week.

The band debuted the lyric video for its new single ‘Now Comes The Rain‘ Wednesday. The song and its video are the second from the band’s forthcoming album Long Day Good Night, which is scheduled for release Nov. 6 through Metal Blade Records. The song’s debut comes more than two months after the band debuted the album’s lead single, ‘Scars.’

Fittingly, the video for the band’s new single features the song’s lyrics presented against the backdrop of the album’s artwork. Raindrops are present throughout the video, even being used in the video’s intro to make it look as it viewers are looking through a rain-covered window.

The musical arrangement featured in ‘Now Come The Rain’ is a heavy, yet somewhat melancholy presentation. Its lyrical theme comes across as delivering a message of hope. It notes through its metaphorical language that for all the rain that falls, there is some sunshine. It is certain to engage and entertain audiences.

Pre-orders are open now for Long Day Good Night.  The album will be available through a variety of platforms, all of which are noted below.

– digipak-CD
– ltd. digibook-CD
– 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)
– red / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 500 copies)
– dark goldenrod marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 300 copies)
– clear / black marbled vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 200 copies)
– orange / black dust splatter vinyl (Kings Road exclusive – limited to 100 copies)
– orange / red marbled vinyl (US exclusive)
– clear w/ red & orange splatter vinyl (US exclusive)

Fates Warning signed a new deal with Metal Blade Records last year, through which it has released the majority of its albums, after having spent recent years signed to InsideOut Music.  The band was signed with Metal Blade Records from the release of its 1984 debut album Night on Brocken, releasing albums through the label until 2013, when it released Darkness in a Different Light through InsideOut Music.  Theories of Flight followed in 2016.  The band’s 1998 live recording Still Life was also released via Metal Blade Records, as was the band’s 2017 live recording Awaken The Guardian Live.

Front man Ray Alder addressed the reunion in an interview last year.

“All of us in Fates Warning are happy to announce that we are back with Metal Blade Records,” Alder said.  “Metal Blade has been there for us since the very beginning, and we are proud to call them part of our family.  The journey begins again, and we cannot begin to say how excited we are to work together once more.  A big thank to our fans for sticking with us through all these years.  We could not be here today without all of you.  That is a fact.  Thank you, everyone.  Here’s to making some new memories.”

Alder had the following to say of the band’s new album in a recent interview.

“The styles of music we’ve written distinguish this record from the rest of our catalogue,” said Alder. “There are some songs with electronics and some with a nice ethereal feel, as well as some pretty straightforward grooves, at least for us. And there are also some pretty heavy songs. We tried to give the listener a host of different things to listen to, as opposed to an album where every song sounds the same.”

Guitarist Jim Matheos expanded on Alder’s statements with his own comments.

“Like all albums, nothing comes easy,” said Matheos. “It’s quite a process to go from the idea to the actual finished song. Sometimes you think you’re done with it, then you hear something else and you have to try that. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t, but you at least have to try it just so you know that in the end you’ve done everything possible to make it as good as it can be. Jim and I spent practically every day for the last year writing this album. I am very happy with the outcome, and with the blend of styles. I guess I could say that this album represents all of the years that we have been together.”

Porcupine Tree/The Pineapple Thief drummer Gavin Harrison makes a guest appearance on Fates Warning’s new album in the songs ‘When The Snow Falls’ and ‘Under The Sun.’

Long Day Good Night‘s track listing is noted below.  The album’s total run time is one hour, 12 minutes.

Long Day Good Night track-listing
1. The Destination Onward
2. Shuttered World
3. Alone We Walk
4. Now Comes the Rain
5. The Way Home
6. Under the Sun
7. Scars
8. Begin Again
9. When Snow Falls
10. Liar
11. Glass Houses
12. The Longest Shadow of the Day
13. The Last Song

More information on Long Day Good Night is available online now along with all of Fates Warning’s latest news at:




To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.