T-Rex Marathon Debuts ‘A Prison Just For Us’ Lyric Video

Courtesy: Asher Media Relations

T-Rex Marathon debuted a new video for its single ‘A Prison Just For Us’ last week.

The band debuted the lyric video for the single Nov. 12 through punknews.org. Its premiere comes less than two months after the band debuted the single by itself through IdiotEQ. The lyric video places the song’s lyrics over a backdrop of a cloudy sky and occasional raindrops as the song plays over the imagery.

The second single from the band’s latest recording, Days Without Incident — it followed the release of the album’s lead single, ‘Faux News‘ — ‘A Prison Just For Us’ takes on the very serious topic of abusive relationships.  The song’s lyrics make this clear as they note how one partner in the relationship has taken the other for granted and emotionally abused that person.

The heavy, guitar-driven arrangement will appeal to works from fans of similar acts, such as Alexisonfire, A Day To Remember, and Taking Back Sunday.  That is especially evident through the song’s equally heavy bass, guitar, and drums.

The band discussed the song’s arrangement in a prepared statement.

“This song was written as an homage of sorts to Canadian post-hardcore pioneers Alexisonfire,” the statement reads. “AoF was, and still is, a huge influence on this band’s music. This song is a band favourite because it stands apart from the other songs on the album, featuring an emphasis on atmosphere and ambiance rather than punchy energy. This song might sound a little different from the others, but we do think it’s a great song that we think will really resonate with our listeners!”

A previously released statement from the band about the song expands on the band’s latest statement.

“The structure and feel pay homage to AoF’s [Alexisonfire’s] track “Accidents” and if it were to be described in one word, it would be ‘atmosphere,’ the statement reads. “It’s the kind of song that with each listen, you’ll find something new, but it’s still kept catchy with a great chorus that’s easy to sing along to. It’s a song where we make use of interesting production techniques and slightly improvisational guitar parts as well as giving it a lot of breathing room live to stretch out and interact with the crowd.”

T-Rex Marathon debuted Days Without Incident‘s latest single ‘Sheltered’ and its video last month through thenewfury.com. Additionally, the band streamed its new album in full last month through v13.net only days ahead of its release. Days Without Incident is available now.

The track listing for Days Without Incident is noted below.

Track Listing:
1. All For Nothing (2:56)
2. No Words (4:56)
3. Faux News (3:05)
4. A Prison Just For Us (4:08)
5. Turnpike (4:06)
6. Pick Your Poison (4:58)
7. Misfits (4:24)
8. Sheltered (4:01)
9. Futures and Goodbyes (4:32)
10. 5 Centimeters Per Second (5:58)
Album Length: 43:09

More information on T-Rex Marathon’s new single is available along with all of the band’s latest news at:




To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.