Liquid Tension Experiment Announces new LP’s Release Date, Art, Specs

Courtesy: InsideOut Music

The members of Liquid Tension Experiment have released more information about the group’s new album.

The band — Mike Portnoy, Jordan Rudess, Tony Levin, and John Petrucci — announced Monday, the album’s title, cover art, and release date. Additionally, the band announced the album’s track listing and platforms on which it will release.

According to information sent from InsideOut Music, which will release the record, it will follow the track of the band’s first two albums and be called Liquid Tension Experiment 3. The album is scheduled for release March 26.

Petrucci was upbeat as he talked about the album’s pending release.

“After over 20 years since the last time we recorded together, the four of us stepped into the studio and it was as if no time had passed at all!,” said Petrucci. “All of the magic that made the first two LTE albums so special was still there and we had such a great time making this record. I’m extremely proud of what we created together and can’t wait for everyone to hear it!”

Portnoy, who previously recorded with Petrucci and Rudess as a member of Dream Theater, expanded on his fellow musician’s comments.

“The best thing to come out of 2020 was this long-awaited reunion!,” he said. “And it was surely worth the wait as after all these years, the magic chemistry was still there and stronger than ever!”

In anticipation of the album’s release, the quartet released a teaser trailer last month. The 55-second trailer features a snippet of what can only be believed to be a portion of one of the songs that will feature in the album. It is accompanied by a psychedelic style visual that presents various fluids mingling with one another.

Courtesy: InsideOut Music

More than two decades have passed since the quartet released its then most recent record Liquid Tension Experiment 2. That record, released in 1999, was followed up by the release of the album Spontaneous Combustion in October 2007 by three quarters of the group, which opted to call itself Liquid Tension Trio. Portnoy, Levin, and Rudess recorded the album while Petrucci and his wife welcomed their then baby.

The new album’s track listing is noted below.

1. Hypersonic (8:22)
2. Beating The Odds (6:09)
3. Liquid Evolution (3:23)
4. The Passage Of Time (7:32)
5. Chris & Kevin’s Amazing Odyssey (5:04)
6. Rhapsody In Blue (13:16)
7. Shades Of Hope (4:42)
8. Key To The Imagination (13:14)
Bonus Disc: Includes almost an hour of improvised jams.

The album will release on the platforms noted below. Pre-orders open Jan. 22.

•Limited deluxe hot pink 3LP+2CD+Blu-ray Box Set (incl. a poster and 4 artcards, Blu-ray includes a 5.1 surround mix with visuals, and full band interview from the studio)
•Limited 2CD+Blu-ray Artbook
•Limited 2CD Digipak
•Gatefold black 2LP+CD
• Digital album (2CD)

More information on this and other titles from InsideOut Music is available along with the label’s latest news at:




To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.