The Flower Kings Debuts ‘Black Swan’ Video

Courtesy: InsideOut Music

The Flower Kings debuted the video for its latest single this week.

The band debuted the video for its new single ‘Black Swan‘ Tuesday. The song is the fourth single from the band’s latest album Islands, which was released in October through InsideOUt Music. Its premiere follows that of the album’s current singles ‘Morning News,’ ‘From The Ground,’ and ‘Broken.’

The video features the band performing its new single, each member of the band performing his respective part alone as the song plays. The song’s musical arrangement is a clearly classic rock-influenced composition. There are moments in the song that hint especially at a Queen influence. There are also some clear influence from the synth-driven sounds of the 80s.

Guitarist and founding member Roine Stolt talked about the song’s musical arrangement in a prepared statement.

“’Black Swan’ was a little piano melody I wrote around spring 2019 – I thought of it as ‘Polish melancholic’ or a ballet piano piece,” he said. “I did present a demo for the Transatlantic sessions but when it didn’t stick there I brought it along to the TFK ‘Islands’ session. Here it found its way in to the album and concept and with a slightly more dry guitar-driven sound and with nods to both The Beatles & Queen it became one of my favorite tracks. Hasse delivers some of his finest vocal on the album here.”

The song’s lyrical theme will appeal to listeners just as much as the song’s musical arrangement, with its metaphorical language.

Islands is available now. The album’s track listing is noted below.

Disc One (49:40)
1 – Racing With Blinders On 4:24
2 – From The Ground 4.02
3 – Black Swan 5:53
4 – Morning News 4:01
5 – Broken 6:38
6 – Goodbye Outrage 2:19
7 – Journeyman 1:43
8 – Tangerine 3:51
9 – Solaris 9:10
10 – Heart Of The Valley 4:18
11- Man In A Two Peace Suit 3:21

Disc Two (43:01)
1 – All I Need Is Love 5:48
2 – A New Species 5:45
3 – Northern Lights 5:43
4 – Hidden Angles 0:50
5 – Serpentine 3:52
6 – Looking For Answers 4:30
7 –Telescope 4:41
8 – Fool’s Gold 3:11
9 – Between Hope & Fear 4:29
10 – Islands 4:12

More information on The Flower Kings’ new album is available along with all of the band’s latest news at:



To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.