Demon Hunter Debuts Acoustic ‘I Will Fail You’ Take

Courtesy: Solid State Records

Demon Hunter kicked off the weekend with some “new” music.

The band debuted a stripped down, acoustic take of its song ‘I Will Fail You‘ Friday. The song is featured in the band’s forthcoming compilation record Songs of Death and Resurrection, which is scheduled for release March 5 through Solid State Records.

The song’s debut comes less than two months after the band held a livestream acoustic performance to promote the new compilation of stripped down takes of its music.

Front man Ryan Clark talked about the stripped down take of ‘I Will Fail You’ during a recent interview.

“The original album version of “I Will Fail You” is one of our doomiest ballads,” he said. “At the time, I found myself immersed in the bleak heaviness of bands like Omnium Gatherum, Swallow The Sun, and Katatonia. I’m naturally drawn to that place where heavy and sad collide.

Reimagined for Songs of Death and Resurrection, the song takes on a haunting vibe, replacing heavy chugs with hypnotic repetition of the lead guitar,” added Clark. There’s a trance-like cadence to it, which feels just as appropriate as the original crunch.”

This version of the song also features the amazing talents of longtime Demon Hunter collaborator, Chris Carmichael,” he continued. “Chris has arranged and performed the strings for many DH songs, such as “Sixteen,” “Driving Nails,” “I Am a Stone,” and “Slight the Odds.” I’ve never had to give Chris direction, and I’ve never asked him to change anything beyond his first attempt. He just gets it… and makes us sound like a million dollars every time he touches a track. 

The album’s track listing is noted below.

1. My Throat is an Open Grave (Resurrected)
2. Dead Flowers (Resurrected)
3. The Heart of a Graveyard (Resurrected)
4. Praise the Void (Resurrected)
5. Blood in the Tears (Resurrected)
6. Loneliness (Resurrected)
7. I Will Fail You (Resurrected)
8. I Am a Stone (Resurrected)
9. Deteriorate (Resurrected)
10. Carry Me Down (Resurrected)
11. The Tide Began to Rise (Resurrected)
12. My Heartstrings Come Undone (Resurrected)

More information on Demon Hunter’s forthcoming compilation and livestream is available along with all of the band’s latest news at:




To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it. Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.