ABKCO Releases ‘Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia Jackson’ Soundtrack

Courtesy: ABKCO

ABKCO is celebrating the forthcoming debut of Lifetime’s forthcoming Mahalia Jackson biopic Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia Jackson with the release of the movie’s soundtrack.

The label released the movie’s soundtrack Friday to all digital outlets. The 20-song soundtrack features multiple performances by lead star Danielle Brooks, who takes on the role of the iconic singer.

Brooks, a Juliard graduate and Grammy Award winner, discussed portraying Jackson and performing in the movie during a recent interview.

“Mahalia Jackson moved the masses with her sound,” said Brooks. “Her voice somehow encompassed the fullness of the black experience. It represented where we wanted to go, how we wanted to be seen. While recording her music I definitely felt a high level of responsibility to fulfill all that she was through spirit, sound, and feeling. I’m grateful for the opportunity to remind this generation of her legacy and all the goodness she left the world with.”

Matthew Head, who produced the movie’s soundtrack, also wrote the movie’s instrumental score. His work is, by connection, also featured as part of the overall soundtrack. The soundtrack’s track listing is noted below.

Robin Roberts Presents: Mahalia (Music From The Motion Picture) tracklisting

  1. Worthy Of Your Gifts – Matthew Head  

  2. Hello Heartbreak – Jazmin Crumley 

  3. My God Is Real (Yes God Is Real) – Danielle Brooks 

  4. Elijah Rock – Danielle Brooks 

  5. Estelle’s Childhood – Matthew Head 

  6. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child – Danielle Brooks 

  7. Hallelujah, Praise God (Mildred’s Piano Audition) – Matthew Head 

  8. Come On Children, Let’s Sing – Danielle Brooks 

  9. Move On Up A Little Higher – Danielle Brooks 

  10. How I Got Over – Danielle Brooks 

  11. Mildred Soaks Her Hands – Matthew Head 

  12. Sweetened Water Song – Matthew Head 

  13. His Eye Is On The Sparrow – Danielle Brooks 

  14. Studs and Mahalia discuss Bus Boycott – Matthew Head 

  15. Discussion of Faith – Matthew Head 

  16. Didn’t It Rain – Danielle Brooks 

  17. I’ve Been Buked – Danielle Brooks 

  18. Mildred Storms Out – Matthew Head 

  19. Take My Hand, Precious Lord – Danielle Brooks 

  20. I’m Going to Live the Life I Sing About in My Song – Danielle Brooks

More information on this and other titles from ABKCO is available along with the label’s latest news at:

Website: https://www.abkco.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/abkco

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ABKCO

To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to https://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it. Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.