Meshuggah Debuts ‘The Abysmal Eye’ Video

Courtesy: Atomic Fire Records

Meshuggah unveiled the video for its latest single this week.

The band premiered the video for its new single, ‘The Abysmal Eye’ Thursday. The song is featured in the band’s forthcoming album, Immutable, which is scheduled for release April 1 through Atomic Fire Records.

The video for ‘The Abysmal Eye’ is an intense cinematic presentation. It is a unique science fiction/horror story that finds a group of unidentified, hooded figures apparently resurrecting a being as people make their way to the pit where the the resurrection is happening. The video’s end involves a sequence similar to what happened at the end of Marvel’s Avengers: Infinity War, not to give away too much. The band’s new single plays over the presentation.

The musical arrangement featured in Meshuggah’s new single is everything that audiences have come to expect from the band. The richness and heaviness of the instrumentation and vocals is on full display once again. What’s more, the technical death metal style that the band has come to be known for is just as present while still ensuring the song maintains its own identity separate from the band’s existing body of work.

No information was provided about the song’s lyrical theme in the press release announcing the video’s premiere. The lyrics provided with the video make for their own share of engagement and discussion among audiences. It comes across as very existential and philosophical, which is also unsurprising from this band.

The track listing for Immutable is noted below.

Immutable Track Listing:

1. Broken Cog

2. The Abysmal Eye

3. Light The Shortening Fuse

4. Phantoms

5. Ligature Marks

6. God He Sees In Mirrors

7. They Move Below

8. Kaleidoscope

9. Black Cathedral

10. I Am That Thirst

11. The Faultless

12. Armies Of The Preposterous

13. Past Tense

More information on Meshuggah’s new single, video, and album is available along with all of the band’s latest news at:




To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it. Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.