Derek Sherinian Debuts New LP’s Latest Single, ‘Scorpion’

Courtesy: InsideOut Music

Derek Sherinian gave audiences another preview of his new album this week.

The preview came in the form of Sherinian’s new single, ‘Scorpion.’ The piano-driven composition is the second single from Sherinian’s forthcoming album, Vortex. Sherinian premiered the album’s lead single, its title track, April 29.

Scorpion is a moving fusion style composition that features Sherinian on a full-size piano, Simon Phillips on drums, and Tony Franklin on bass. Each musician gets his own moment in the sun so to speak. The group’s collective work easily lends the whole to comparison to works from Trioscapes.

Sherinian talked about the song in a prepared statement.

“After the great response to “Dragonfly” on my last album, Simon and I wanted to do another piano trio song,” Sherinian said. “Don’t be surprised if you see me going more in this direction in the future.”

The track listing for Vortex is noted below.

1 The Vortex feat. Steve Stevens
2 Fire Horse feat. Nuno Bettencourt
3 Scorpion
4 Seven Seas feat. Steve Stevens
5 Key Lime Blues feat. Joe Bonamassa, Steve Lukather
6 Die Kobra feat. Michael Schenker, Zakk Wylde
7 Nomad’s Land feat. Mike Stern
8 Aurora Australis feat. Bumblefoot

More information on Derek Sherinian’s new album is available along with all of his latest news at:




To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.