Styx Announces ‘The Mission’ Re-Issue, Tommy Shaw Live Release Dates

Styx has a bunch of news for its fans this summer.

The band is currently on the road on a co-headlining tour with Joan Jett & The Blackhearts.  The tour includes a stop in North Carolina’s capitol city, Raleigh next week at the Coastal Credit Union Music Park at Walnut Creek.  Fellow veteran rock act Tesla is also on the bill as support.  Tickets for that show are available now here.

Courtesy: UMe

Styx’s latest tour run is in support of its latest album, The Mission, which was released June 16, 2017 via UMe.  This summer, the band will have two more reasons for its tour as it re-issues The Mission and as vocalist Tommy Shaw prepares to release his new album.

The Mission is currently scheduled to be re-issued July 27 via Alpha Dog 2T/UMe.  The new re-issue is expected to include a bonus DVD with bonus videos, “making of’ documentary interviews with Tommy Shaw and producer Will Evankovich, music videos for ‘Gone, Gone, Gone’ and ‘Radio Silence,’ and three hi-res playback modes and more.  Pre-orders are open now.

Courtesy: Eagle Rock Entertainment

On June 29, Shaw will release his new live recording Sing For The Day via Eagle Rock Entertainment.  Shaw was joined by the Contemporary Youth Orchestra for the 13-song performance.  Originally recorded in 2016 at the Waetjen Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohhio, the concert — which will be available on CD, Blu-ray and digital platforms — features unique takes on classic Styx and Tommy Shaw songs such as ‘Blue Collar Man,’ ‘Girls With Guns,’ and ‘Too Much Time on My Hands.’

Along with presenting some familiar songs in a new format, the concert also marks the 10th anniversary of Styx’s original 2006 performance with the Contemporary Youth Orchestra.  That performance was captured in the band’s live recording One With EverythingSing For The Day!‘s set list is noted below.  Pre-orders are open now.

SING FOR THE DAY! Track Listing:
1. Overture
2. Girls With Guns
3. Too Much Time On My Hands
4. Fooling Yourself
5. Diamond
6. Crystal Ball
7. Boat On The River
8. Sing For The Day
9. Renegade
10. Man In The Wilderness
11. Come Again
12. High Enough
13. Blue Collar Man
Blu-ray Bonus songs:
Down That Highway
The Great Divide
I’ll Be Coming Home
The Night Goes On

Along with the noted releases, AXS TV will present on June 30, a “Saturday Styx Lineup.”  The broadcast, which starts at 1 p.m. ET, will feature conversations and classic Styx performances.  Shaw and band mates Jame “Jy” Young and Lawrence Gowan will sit down with legendary news man Dan Rather to talk about the band’s history, the writing process an more in “The Big Interview.”

The celebration continues at 2 p.m. as the band joins none other than Sammy Hagar (ex-Van Halen, Chickenfoot, ex-Ronnie Montrose) for a special session backstage at The Venetian in Las Vegas on “Rock and Roll Road Trip With Sammy Hagar.”

At 2:30, AXS TV will air the band’s 2015 recording Live at the Orleans Arena Las Vegas.  The 18-song set was originally recorded during a performance by the band at said venue in 2014 during its “Soundtrack of Summer” tour.  The recording was released in stores and online September 2, 2016 via Eagle Rock Entertainment.

Shaw’s previously noted upcoming performance with the Contemporary Youth Orchestra continues the network’s afternoon-long schedule at 3 p.m. ET.  It all starts over at 5 p.m. ET.

More information on Styx’s forthcoming recordings, its AXS TV schedule, its latest news and more is available online now at:






More information on Shaw’s new live recording and other titles from Eagle Rock Entertainment is available online now at:






To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Styx Announces New Album Coming Soon; Debuts Album’s Lead Single, Video

Courtesy: Alpha Dog 2T/UMe

Styx has a new “mission” in 2017.

The veteran rock act announced this week that it will release its new album The Mission June 16 on CD, vinyl and digital platforms.  The album, which will be released via Alpha Dog 2T/UMe, will be the band’s first new album in 14 years and its 16th overall studio recording.  Audiences can pre-order The Mission online via various online outlets here now.

The album’s lead single ‘Gone, Gone, Gone’ was released Friday at radio and online retail outlets.  The song’s video is streaming online now and can be viewed here.  The song’s high-energy, guitar-driven arrangement will appeal to fans of Foghat and other similar acts with its blues-rock-based sound.

Courtesy: Billboard Magazine/Alpha Dog 2T/UMe

The Mission comes forty years after the release of Grand Illusion and is also a concept record.  Recorded over the course of two years, the 43-minute record tells a fictionalized story of the first manned mission to Mars in the year 2033.

According to the story’s premise, the six-person crew of the nuclear-powered interplanetary spacecraft Khedive, being launched by the Global Space Exploration Program (GSEP) is making its maiden voyage and headed to Mars.

The team consists of the pilot, first officer, engineer and three science experts.  The pilot is described as a “fully-hands-on, seat-of-the-pants born leader,” while the first officer is described as a big brother figure.  The engineer is described as being skeptical of the mission but still does his best.

The band’s lineup on The Mission features Tommy Shaw (vocals/guitar), co-founder James “JY” Young (guitar/vocals), Lawrence Gowan (keyboards/vocals), Chuck Panozzo (bass), Todd Sucherman (drums/percussion) and Ricky Phillips (bass).

The Mission’s track listing is noted below.

Here’s the track listing for THE MISSION:


  1. Overture
  2. Gone Gone Gone
  3. Hundred Million Miles from Home
  4. Trouble at the Big Show
  5. Locomotive
  6. Radio Silence
  7. The Greater Good
  8. Time May Bend
  9. Ten Thousand Ways to Be Wrong
  10. Red Storm
  11. All Systems Stable
  12. Khedive
  13. The Outpost
  14. Mission to Mars


  1. Overture (Side A)
  2. Gone Gone Gone (Side A)
  3. Hundred Million Miles from Home (Side A)
  4. Trouble at the Big Show (Side A)
  5. Locomotive (Side A)
  6. Radio Silence (Side A)
  7. The Greater Good (Side B)
  8. Time May Bend (Side B)
  9. Ten Thousand Ways to Be Wrong (Side B)
  10. Red Storm (Side B)
  11. All Systems Stable (Side B)
  12. Khedive (Side B)
  13. The Outpost (Side B)
  14. Mission to Mars (Side B)

More information on The Mission is available online now along with all of the band’s latest news and more at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at