Derek Sherinian Debuts New LP’s Lead Single

Courtesy: InsideOut Music

Derek Sherinian debuted the lead single from his new album The Phoenix this week.

Sherinian debuted his new single ‘Empyrean Sky‘ Friday.  The full-on instrumental track is anchored by Sherinian’s keyboard work, drummer Simon Philipps’ time keeping and Jimmy Johnson’s bass line.  Armen Ra’s performance on the theremin adds its own touch to the composition, too, as does guitarist Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal’s performance along with the group.

The composition in whole lends itself to comparisons to work (both classic and modern) from the likes of Kansas and to works from Emerson Lake & Palmer.  It is a slight departure from the work that he has done with other acts with which he has recorded and performed.  That gives the song even more of its own identity.

Sherinian (ex-Dream Theater, Sons of Apollo, Platypus, Black Country Communion) is scheduled to release his new album Sept. 18 through InsideOut Music.  It will mark the first time since 2011 that he has released a solo album, that most recent album being Oceana.

Sherinian talked about his forthcoming album in a recent interview.

“I truly feel that this is my best solo record to date,” he said. “[Drummer] Simon [Philipps] and I put a lot of energy into the writing, and I am grateful to all of the great players that contributed to this recording.”

“It is always an amazing experience to be able to work with Simon,” added Sherinian. “He’s been a hero of mine for ages, ever since I heard him playing on albums with Jeff Beck and Michael Schenker.  And he is such an invaluable part of the way this new record has come out.”

Along with handling drums throughout the record, Philipps also also co-produced and co-wrote the album with Sherinian.  He shared his own thoughts on the record.

Eight songs will make up the body of The Phoenix, among them a cover of Buddy Miles’ ‘Them Changes.’  It will be available as a limited edition digipack CD, 180-gram LP/CD combo pack and digital album.  The record’s track listing is noted below.


1. The Phoenix
2. Empyrean Sky
3. Clouds of Ganymede
4. Dragonfly
5. Temple of Helios
6. Them Changes
7. Octopus Pedigree
8. Pesadelo


The Phoenix will feature guest appearances by figures, such as bassists Billy Sheehan, Tony Franklin and Jimmy Johnson and guitarists Joe Bonamassa, Zakk Wylde, Steve Vai, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (Sons of Apollo, Guns N’ Roses), and Kiko Loureiro (Megadeth).

Sherinian said of bringing Loureiro on board for the new album, “Kiko and I have known one another for about 20 years, but this is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to play with him.”

More information on Derek Sherinian’s new album is available along with all of his latest news at:






To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at