Felix Martin Announces New Album’s Release Date, Specs

Courtesy: Prosthetic Records

Courtesy: Prosthetic Records

Guitarist Felix Martin has new music on the way.

The virtuoso guitarist will release his new album Mechanical Nations on Friday, February 24.  The album was self-produced by Martin and mixed with Jamie King (Between The Buried and Me).

Martin said the music in the album was inspired by the people and music of South America. He added the album’s artwork was created by his own mother.

“The artwork represents South America “Mechanized,” Martin said. “Many of the songs on this album are inspired by South American traditional melodies and inspired by locations that were then “Mechanized” so to say in a progressive format.  “Barquisimetal” is a good example – it is a place in Venezuela that inspired melodies and the landscape brought out that creative spark. Many South American countries, especially places like Venezuela, are heavily industrial-based economies. The hard work of the people and how it shaped the countries themselves seemed fitting for a progressive rock record. In the background of the artwork, you can see “Petare”, it’s one of the poorest neighborhoods in Caracas, but one of my favorite places in my home country Venezuela.”

Martin said the album’s goal was to force himself to evolve and branch out as an artist.

“The overall goal with this album was to discover unique and new sounds from the electric guitar and to make an instrumental rock/metal record with a Latin spark that sounds band-based,” Martin said. “The music ended up being more melodic and accessible for a broader audience (from the metal, to pop, to jazz etc). I also challenged myself to not use distortion, play solos, or even lead-solo melodies, as I wanted to focus on what makes me different on the guitar and put the whole band under the spotlight.”

The track listing for Martin’s new album is noted below.


Mechanical Nations track listing:

1) Flashback

2) Carnatt

3) Eight Moon Headdress

4) Nomadic Tree

5) Da House Cat

6) Cosmo Basket

7) Bom

8) Bom Continues

9) Cardboard Roofs

10) Santos (feat. Angel Vivaldi)

11) Barquisimetal

12) King Zartman

13) Four Handed Giant

14) Canaima

15) Bridge Clock Disparity


More information on Mechanical Nations is available online now along with all of Felix Martin’s latest news, tour updates and more at:




Website: http://www.felixmartin.net

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/felixmartinmusic

Twitter: http://twitter.com/felixmartin14




To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.