Ricky Byrd Announces Release Date, Specs For New LP

Courtesy: Kayos Records

Famed singer-songwriter Ricky Byrd will release his new album next month.

Byrd, a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductee, is scheduled to release his new album Sobering Times Sept. 25 through Kayos Records.  Pre-orders are open now.

The 12-song record comes approximately three years after the release of his then most recent album Clean Getaway (2017).  According to information presented about the forthcoming album, its lyrical and musical content is meant to continue promoting the message of hope in recovering from addiction that was also presented in the noted 2017 album.

Bob Stander, who co-produced Clean Getaway alongside Byrd, joins him again on this record, handling percussion and bass on this record.  Also joining Byrd for the album are Jeff Kazee (Southside Johnny and the Asbury Jukes) on keyboards, accordion, and backing vocals; Steve Holley (Wings, Ian Hunter, Joe Cocker) on drums; Liberty DeVitto (Billy Joel) on drums; Rich Pagano (The Fab Faux), Thommy Price (Joan Jett, Billy Idol, Mink DeVille), and Christine “The Beehive Queen” Ohlman (Saturday Night Live band).

Additionally, Richie Supa and Willie Nile join Byrd for a pair of duets — ‘I Come Back Stronger’ and ‘Recover Me’ — as well as Emily Duff on ‘Ain’t Gonna Live Like That.’  Duff also wrote the noted song.

Along with the noted duets, Byrd’s new album will also features a cover of Merle Haggard’s ‘The Bottle Let Me Down.’

The track listing for Sobering Times is noted below.

1.) Quittin’ Time (Again)
2.) Together
3.) Hear My Song
4.) Tired
5.) I Come Back Stronger
6.) Starlit Night
7.) Recover Me (feat. Willie Nile)
8.) Ain’t Gonna Live Like That
9.) Pour Me
10.) The Bottle Let Me Down
11.) Life Is Good
12.) Just Like You

More information on Ricky Byrd’s new album is available along with all of his latest news at:


Website: http://www.RickyByrd.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ricky.byrd1

Twitter: http://twitter.com/Byrdman20


To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

Perry Recovering Following Medical Emergency

Courtesy: MSO PR

Officials with former Aerosmith and current Hollywood Vampires guitarist Joe Perry have released an update on the guitarist’s condition after he was transported to the hospital last night following a performance with fellow veteran musician Billy Joel.

The statement that follows is the latest update on Perry’s condition.  It states that at last report, he was still in the hospital this morning and recovering.

“Following a guest performance during Billy Joel’s show last night at Madison Square Garden, Joe Perry experienced shortness of breath and was treated backstage by paramedics who gave the guitarist oxygen and used a tracheal tube to clear his airway before taking him to a hospital. This morning Perry remains in the hospital where he is alert and responsive. The Aerosmith guitarist will be unable to appear today at Rock And Roll Fantasy Camp in Florida and apologizes to those attending. Perry is expected to return to the road later this month.”

To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

Sedaka’s Live Show Is A Simple, Beautiful Set

Courtesy: Eagle Rock Entertainment/Eagle Records

Neil Sedaka’s newly released live CD, “The Show Goes On:  Live at the Royal Albert Hall” is musical simplicity at its finest.  This companion CD to the musical legend’s DVD release of the same performance has been six years in the making.  Being that this performance has already been released via DVD, and now on CD, it makes one wonder if it will eventually see a blu-ray re-issue.  Until then, at least audiences have this wonderful audio record of a performance that is simple.  The simplicity of the performance makes the show fun and makes his classic hits that much more beautiful. 

Sedaka’s performance was simply him and his piano.  There was no band.  There was no pyro.  Nothing.  It’s proof positive that the old k.i.s.s. formula does work.  His vocals, and his ability on the keys, shows why he is just as respected as fellow pianist/vocalists Billy Joel and Elton John, if not even more so.  The show’s opener, ‘The Other Side of Me’ is a beautiful, gentle piece that shows Sedaka’s control of both his vocal instrument and his piano.  The dynamic contrasts throughout the piece make it flow with such ease.  The emotions of the song are perfectly expressed through those dynamic contrasts.  It pulls the audience right in.  And the airiness of the sound thanks to the size of the Royal Albert Hall makes the emotion of the song echo throughout the building.  That in itself gives the song that much more power.

Another wonderful moment from this recorded performance comes in the classic, ‘Love Will Keep Us Together.’  Sedaka explains to the audience in attendance how he came to write the classic song.  His interaction with the audience as it collectively claps to the music exhibits a chemistry between everyone involved that makes the song that much more enjoyable.  Listeners won’t be able to hold back the laughs as he talks about he writes songs, from developing a melody to experimenting with vocals and more.  His lighthearted delivery makes this such a fun song.  Of course, the song itself is just as fun as his interaction with the audience as he performs.

“The Show Goes On:  Live At The Royal Albert Hall” is loaded with great moments for any Neil Sedaka fan.  The set list is comprised of twenty-one total songs.  So it would be impossible to touch on each and every one.  But there is at least one more memorable moment in this performance.  Being that it is such a classic, what Neil Sedaka show would be complete without the one and only ‘Calendar Girl.’  Sedaka shows why the piano is considered a percussion instrument in many circles.  The way that he plays it is what really gives the song its identity, believe it or not.  His vocals match that style, too.  It combines to make just one more of what proves to be a great listen for any oldies fan.

Some people have commented on the “airy-ness” of the performance’s audio.  Given, the Royal Albert Hall isn’t a small building.  But that “airy-ness” is part of what makes this show so spectacular.  This show is just Neil and a piano.  The manner in which his vocals and his music echo throughout the hall add so much to the show’s simplicity.  It’s one more bonus to what is a great show simply from the set list.  But keeping that in mind, one can only hope that it will eventually see a blu-ray re-issue.  Audiences will appreciate the concert that much more seeing the dichotomy of how simple Sedaka’s stage set was versus the size of the hall.  That visual image alone makes it all that much more powerful.  Until then, audiences at least have this new audio recording of Sedaka’s show.  “The Show Goes On:  Live At The Royal Albert Hall” is available in stores and online now.  It can be ordered online at http://www.eagle-rock.com.

To keep up with the latest entertainment reviews and news, go to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it or its companion page, http://www.facebook.com/pages/Reel-Reviews/381028148587141.  Fans can always keep up with all the latest entertainment reviews and news in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.