Eagle Rock Entertainment Debuts New Trailer For New Ella Fitzgerald Documentary

Courtesy: Eagle Rock Entertainment

Eagle Rock Entertainment released the first new trailer this week, for its forthcoming documentary, Ella FitzgeraldJust One Of Those Things.

The new trailer, released Wednesday, features clips of Fitzgerald performing with Duke Ellington and his orchestra, new interview footage with the likes of Tony Bennett and Jamie Cullum.

The 90-second trailer also features vintage photos of Fitzgerald from early in her career and even footage of interviews that Fitzgerald herself conducted on television.

The trailer is streaming here.  Eagle Rock unveiled a clip from the documentary last month, that featured discussions on Fitzgerald’s time on the road with Chick Webb and his orchestra.  It is available to watch here.

Ella FitzgeraldJust One Of Those Things is scheduled to make its theatrical debut April 3 in select theaters nationwide.  Award-winning director Leslie Woodhead helmed the project, and Reggie Nadelson produced the presentation.

Just One Of Those Things follows Fitzgerald on and off the stage, showing how she used her musical talents and her intelligence to break down barriers and overcome great odds throughout the course of her life.  It features never-before-seen footage of interviews with Smokey Robinson, Tony Bennett, Johnny Mathis, Norma Miller and Ray Brown Jr., Ella’s son. along with many other famous figures.

Fitzgerald lost her mother when she [Fitzgerald] was 15 years old.  From there, she also endured mistreatment in reform schools.  in 1934, her life took a turn that would set her on the path of success from then on, winning a contest at the famed Apollo Theater.  She would eventually go on to work with jazz greats, such as Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Sinatra, Louis Armstrong and Benny Goodman.

While she had great success on stage, Fitzgerald was very different off-stage, wanting privacy for herself and her family.  Audiences will see that dichotomy throughout the course of this new documentary.

Fitzgerald earned a number of accolades during the course of her career. Among those honors were 13 Grammy awards, record sales exceeding 40 million records and an NAACP Equal Justice Award. She also received the American Black Achievement Award.

More information on Eagle Rock Entertainment’s new Ella Fitzgerald documentary is available online at:





To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

ABKCO Records To Release “Joy” Soundtrack In Stores This Week

Courtesy:  ABKCO Records

Courtesy: ABKCO Records

20th Century Fox’s new movie Joy has only been in theaters a little more than a week and already much has been said of the movie, which stars Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook, The Hunger Games, American Hustle). It has been received a Golden Globe nomination for the year’s Best Motion Picture. And Lawrence has received a Golden Globe nomination in the category of “BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE – MUSICAL OR COMEDY.” Now the soundtrack to Joy is being released in stores and online.

ABKCO Records will release Joy’s soundtrack in stores Friday, January 8th. It was previously released digitally on December 18th. Music from some of music’s greatest names is featured in this collection. Those names include the likes of: The Rolling Stones, Ella Fitzgerald, Nat King Cole, The Ronettes, Bee Gees, Cream, and a number of others. The complete track listing for Joy’s soundtrack is noted below.


Music From the Motion Picture JOY track listing:

1)   “I Feel Free” – Cream

2)   “Joy Romantic Theme” (score)

3)   “Aguas de Marzo” – Edgar Ramirez

4)   “The Sidewinder” – Lee Morgan

5)   “I Want to Be Happy” – Ella Fitzgerald, Chick Webb and His Orchestra

6)   “In the Bleak Mid-Winter – Thomas Bullard, Choir of King’s College, Benjamin Bayl, and Stephen Cleobury

7)   “Notre Pere, Op. 14” – Salzburg Bach Choir/Alois Glasser

8)   “Mama Told Me Not to Come” – Edgar Ramirez, Ray de la Paz & The Peditro Martinez Band

9)   “Something Stupid” – Jennifer Lawrence & Edgar Ramirez

10)                  “To Love Somebody” – Bee Gees

11)                  “I Am in Love” (score)

12)                  “Mop Drawing” (score)

13)                  “Racing in the Street” (score

14)                   “Sleigh Ride” – The Ronettes

15)                  “Stray Cat Blues” – The Rolling Stones

16)                  “Texas” (score)

17)                  “Markham” (score)

18)                  “A House With Love In It” – Nat King Cole

19)                  “Joy Theme” (score)

20)                  “I Feel Free” – Brittany Howard

21)                  “I Feel Free” (Bonus Track) – Brittany Howard

More information on this and other titles available from ABKCO Records is available online now at:


Website: http://www.abkco.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/abkco

Twitter: http://twitter.com/abkco


To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it. Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.