James LaBrie To Release New EP

James LaBrie I Will Not Break EP

Courtesy: InsideOut Music

Dream Theater front man James LaBrie has announced that he will release a new digital-only EP this month.  The new EP, titled I Will Not Break will be released on January 14th via InsideOut Music in North America.  The near forty-minute EP—its total run time clocks in at thirty-eight minutes—is comprised of nine tracks.  Those tracks are listed below.

JAMES LABRIE – “I Will Not Break” Digital EP (38:03)

1. I Will Not Break (3:52)

2. Unraveling (3:31)

3. Why (3:45)

4. Coming Home (Alternate Mix) (4:23)

5. Jekyll Or Hyde (Demo) (3:48)

6. Just Watch Me (Demo) (4:17)

7. I Tried (Jason Miller Re-mix) (5:13)

8. Over The Edge (Mutrix Re-mix) (4:33)

9. Euphoric (NeonGenesis Re-mix) (4:41)

The EP opens with its title track, which is also the album version of the song taken from LaBrie’s previously released full length solo record, Impermanent Resonance.  ‘Unraveling’ and ‘Why’ were available exclusively as bonus tracks on that album’s digipack edition.  The same applies to ‘Coming Home’, ‘Jekyll or Hyde’ and ‘Just Watch.’  The first of these songs is an alternate mix of the song that appears on Impermanent Resonance, while ‘Jekyll or Hyde’ and ‘Just Watch Me’ are early demos that present where those songs began as compared to the final product on LaBrie’s solo record.  They were previously only available on the Japanese and Digipack edition of another of LaBrie’s 2010 solo record, Static Impulse.  The EP’s last three tracks are electronica/dub-step remixes of songs from Static Impulse.  ‘I Tried’ was only available on that album’s Japanese edition before now.

The cover art for LaBrie’s new EP was conceived by artist Gustavo Sazes, who also also done artwork for Arch Enemy, Kamelot, and others.  He also previously created the artwork for Impermanent Resonance.

James himself recently shared his thoughts on his new EP.  He explains what fans have to look forward to with the new release.

“Hey Everyone! Matt, Marco, Peter, Ray and yours truly are very pleased to release this digital EP. It will show some of the songs with alternate mixes as well as letting you hear Matt’s exceptional voice with some of the songs in their demo versions. We also had 3 of the songs mixed in dub step stylings to give them a somewhat interesting flavour and twist. Hope you all enjoy this release, I personally think it is very cool. All the best in the New Year and see you out there….”

Audiences can pre-order I Will Not Break now online at http://smarturl.it/jlb_iwillbreak.  And after ordering his new EP, fans can check out the static video for the EP’s title track via YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nj8aAo3O06E&feature=youtu.be&utm_source=JAMES+LABRIE+-+To+release+%22I+Will+Not+Break%22+Digital-EP+in+January%3B+Launch+title&utm_campaign=james+labrie+i+will+not+break&utm_medium=email.  More information on the latest from James LaBrie is available online at http://www.facebook.com/officialjameslabrie and http://www.jameslabrie.com.  To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.