Spock’s Beard Release New LP’s First Single

Courtesy:  InsideOut Music

Courtesy: InsideOut Music

Spock’s Beard has released the first single from its upcoming eleventh full length studio album, Brief Nocturnes and Dreamless Sleep.  The song, ‘Something very Strange’ is quite the interesting song, with its rather sci-fi feel.  Alan Morse (guitars) said of the new song, “The album version of ‘Something Very Strange’ has an awesome intro that’s going to make it a great live opener – big, spacey, lots of guitar feedback and an otherworldly vocoder bit.  Then the Hammond organ kicks in and we’re off to the races!  It’s got a great groove, a crazy bass part and enough B3 noodling to satisfy even the most hardcore Leslie fanatic.  The chorus is massive, especially when Ted kicks it up an octave on the second chorus.  Then we go off into Progland in the middle 7/8 section, with Ryo and me trading off wiling solos.  Then a huge build into the last chorus, and we go out with a bang!  In addition to that, it has a real trippy sci-fi lyric about aliens appearing in the sky, and the people on the ground looking up to face what’s coming – which is, apparently, very strange! J The people come together in the face of the incoming threat and make their peace with each other.  Hopefully it won’t take that for us to come together.” 

The new song is available to listen to now at http://www.progrockmag.com/news/spocks-beard-premiere-something-very-strange.  The band’s new album will be available Tuesday, April 2nd via Century Media Records.  The band’s only currently listed concert is a CD release party on Saturday, April 13th at the Alvas Showroom in San Pedro, California.  Fans can keep up with the latest updates on live shows, news, and more on the band’s official Facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/spocksbeard, its official website, http://www.spocksbeard.com, on Twitter at http://twitter.com/spocksb and http://www.insideoutmusic.com.  Audiences can also check out the band’s videos online through YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/Spocksbeard.

To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

Geoff Tate Releases Artwork For New Solo LP

Courtesy: Inside Out Music

Queensryche front man Geoff Tate has released the artwork and track listing for his upcoming new solo release, “Kings & Thieves.”  The album is due to hit store shelves Tuesday, November 6th in the U.S.  “Kings & Thieves” is Tate’s second solo release.  His last solo release, which was a self-titled record, was released in June 2002 via Sanctuary Records.  “Kings & Thieves” will be released via Inside/Out Records.

The songlist for Tates new album is as follows:

01. She Slipped Away

02. Take A Bullet

03. In The Dirt

04. Say U Luv It

05. The Way I Roll

06. Tomorrow

07. Evil

08. Dark Money

09. These Glory Days

10. Change

11. Waiting

Tate will tour this Fall and Winter in support of his new solo release beginning Wednesday, October 17th at the Newton Theatre in Newton, New Jersey.  He will also hold a seven-date run in Canada alongside rock legend Alice Cooper from November 7th – 16th.  For a full list of tour dates and to get all the latest news from Geoff Tate, go online to http://www.geofftate.com, http://www.facebook.com/GeoffTateOfficial, http://twitter.com/GeoffTateOfficial, and http://wwwinsideoutmusic.com.

To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to http://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it or its companion page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Reel-Reviews/381028148587141.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews online at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.