Anthrax Discusses Its “Sixth Member” In New Behind-The-Scenes Video

Courtesy:  Nuclear Blast Records

Courtesy: Nuclear Blast Records

Anthrax is giving its fans another look behind the scenes in the making of its new album For All Kings.

The band released a new behind-the-scenes this week. This latest video sees the band switching gears from discussions on songwriting to working with producer Jay Ruston. Ruston manned the boards on the band’s most recent album, 2011’s Worship Music. He also helmed this new recording from the veteran thrash metal band. Over the course of the video, which runs just over three-and-a-half minutes, the band discusses working with Ruston on Worship Music and how that influenced their decision to have him on the boards again for this record. There are plenty of positive comments to be had as he is called the band’s “sixth member” and even the proverbial “Fifth Beatle.” As guitarist Scott Ian notes of Ruston, “He’s become an integral part of our process, that’s for sure. It’s cliche, but he really has become a sixth member.”

Ian’s comment is just one that stands out in the new discussion. There is also a note of Ruston’s ability to keep the band from going over the top in recording the songs featured in this record. In other words they trust him because of his ability to motivate the band yet also keep it from doing too much with any given song. Perhaps the best and most illustrative description of why Ruston helmed this record is Frank Bellow’s comment that he “knows how to make us shine.” There is much more discussion throughout the video. Audiences can check it out now online via YouTube at

Courtesy:  megaforce Records/Nuclear Blast Records

Courtesy: megaforce Records/Nuclear Blast Records

Anthrax is currently on the road in support of For All Kings. The album will be available in stores and online on Friday, February 26th. The band will be in Nashville, TN today. It will then make its way East to Norfolk, VA, where for a show on Friday. Shows in NY and CT are currently slated to round out the weekend, weather permitting. The band’s current tour schedule is listed below.



20   Marathon Music Works, Nashville, TN

22   Constant Convocation Center, Norfolk, VA

23   Hammerstein Ballroom, New York, NY

24   Oakdale Theatre, Wallingford, CT

26   Starland Ballroom, Sayerville, NJ

27   Newport Music Hall, Columbus, OH  (HEADLINE DATE)

28   Royal Oak Music Theatre, Royal Oak, MI

29   Egyptian Room at Old National Center, Indianapolis, IN

30   Aragon Ballroom, Chicago, IL

31   Orbit Room, Grand Rapids, MI


2   Arvest Bank Theatre at The Midland, Kansas City, MO

3   George’s Majestic Lounge, Fayetteville, AR  (HEADLINE DATE)

4   Revention Music Center, Houston, TX

5   Bomb Factory, Dallas, TX

6   Concrete Street Pavilion, Corpus Christi, TX

8   ACL Live at the Moody Theatre, Austin, TX

9   Diamond Ballroom, Oklahoma City, OK

10  Sunshine Theatre, Albuquerque, NM  (HEADLINE DATE)

11  Brooklyn Bowl, Las Vegas, NV

12  Hollywood Palladium, Los Angeles, CA


More information on For All Kings is available online now along with all of the band’s latest news and tour updates at:





To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it. Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Gus G. Debuts EPK Ahead Of New Single, Album Release

Courtesy:  Century Media Records

Courtesy: Century Media Records

Ozzy Osbourne guitarist and Firewind front man Gus G. will release his debut solo album this Spring.  I Am The Fire is scheduled to be released March 18th in the United States.  It will be released March 17th in Europe.  It will be released worldwide via Century Media Records.  Before he releases his debut, Gus G. has released a brand new EPK that offers audiences a look inside the making of the album.  Fans can check out the new EPK online now via YouTube at

The album’s title track is impacting radio now.  It is currently playing on Sirius RadioXM Octane.  It will be added to mainstream radio stations’ playlists beginning next Tuesday, February 18th.  It features the members of hard rock band Devour The Day as special guests.  It will go on sale digitally via iTunes February 25th.  The track listing for I Am The Fire is listed below.


  1. My Will Be Done (feat. Mats Levén)
  2. Blame It On Me (feat. Mats Levén)
  3. I Am The Fire (feat. Devour The Day)
  4. Vengeance (feat. David Ellefson)
  5. Long Way Down (feat. Alexia Rodriguez)
  6. Just Can’t Let Go (feat. Jacob Bunton)
  7. Terrified (feat. Billy Sheehan)
  8. Eyes Wide Open (feat. Mats Levén)
  9. Redemption (feat. Michael Starr)
  10. Summer Days (feat. Jeff Scott Soto)
  11. Dreamkeeper (feat. Tom S. Englund)
  12. End Of The Line (feat. Mats Levén)

Gus G. handled all guitar, bass, and keyboard parts on his solo debut.  Brought along for the record were drummers Jeff Friedl (A Perfect Circle, Puscifer, Devo) and, Daniel Erlandsson (Arch Enemy) bassists David Ellefson (Megadeth), Billy Sheehan (Mr. Big, David Lee Roth), and Marty O’Brien (Tommy Lee, We Are The Fallen), and vocalists Mats Leven (Candlemass, ex-Yngwie Malmstein/Therion), Blake Allison (Devour The Day), Michael Starr (Steel Panther), Alexia Rodriguez (Eyes Set To Kill),Tom S. Englund (Evergrey), Jacob Bunton (Adler) and Jeff Scott Soto (Trans-Siberian Orchestra, ex-Journey).  The album was produced by Jay Ruston (Stone Sour, Anthrax, Steel Panther).

More information on Gus G., his new album, tour news and more is available online at,, and  To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at