American Idol Star’s Latest LP Takes Top Honors In Phil’s Picks 2019 Top New Rock Albums List

Courtesy: Big Johnson Records

Rock fans had a lot of reason this year to raise their horns.  From January right up to this month, rock music fans received lots of strong new offerings this year.  That includes both mainstream and independent acts.  Buckcherry’s new album Warpaint, which came out early this year, proved to be everything that audiences have come to expect from the band.  DuG Pinnick’s King’s X side band KXM also released a new record this year — Circle of Dolls — that was a step up from its predecessor.  80s rockers L.A. Guns even produced its own strong new effort in The Devil You Know while prog rock star Neil Morse’s Jesus ChristThe Exorcist developed its own fans, too.  Between those albums and so many others, rock fans had a lot to be happy about.  It made creating the list of this year’s top new rock records quite difficult to arrange.

This year’s list, like others from Phil’s Picks, features the Top 10 picks as well as five honorable mention titles for a total of 15 titles.  The list was compiled from consideration of the titles’ overall musical and lyrical content.  That content taken into consideration made this list anything but easy.  No offense was meant to any of the band featured on this list.  With that in mind, here is Phil’s Picks 2019 Top 10 New Rock Albums.



  1. Caleb Johnson — Born From Southern Ground
  2. Set It Off — Midnight
  3. Neal Morse — Jesus ChristThe Exorcist
  4. KXM — Circle of Dolls
  5. Buckcherry — Warpaint
  6. Collective Soul — Blood
  7. Aree & The Pure Hearts — Never Gonna Die
  8. The Sh-Booms — The Blurred Odyssey
  9. Lullwater — Voodoo
  10. The Magpie Salute — Highwater II
  11. Queensryche — The Verdict
  12. L.A. Guns — The Devil You Know
  13. Them Guns — From The Shadows
  14. Myrath — Shehili
  15. Stone Leaders — Stone Leaders


To keep up with the latest entertainment reviews and news, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment reviews and news in the Phil’s Picks blog at

Devil City Angels Debuts New Single

Courtesy:  Century Media Records

Courtesy: Century Media Records

Rock and roll super group Devil City Angels will release its self-titled debut album this fall. In anticipation of its release, the collective of veteran talents—Rikki Rocket (Poison), Tracii Guns (L.A. Guns), Rudy Sarzo (Quiet Riot, Ozzy Osbourne, Whitesnake), and Brandon Gibbs (Cheap Thrill)—has debuted the latest single from its upcoming album.

Devil City Angels debuted its latest single ‘All I Need’ this week and is currently streaming the single online via Revolver Magazine. Audiences can hear the song now at Revolver’s website at Audiences that are fans of the rock sound of the late 80s and early 90s will enjoy this song with its lighthearted sound. Its debut follows the premiere of the video for the album’s lead single ‘Boneyard,’ which can be seen online now via YouTube at The video is a direct throwback to the classic rock videos of the 80s complete with footage of the band performing and of course the mandatory female dancer.

Devil City Angels will be available in stores and online on Friday, September 18th via Century Media Records in a variety of bundle packages as well as by itself. Pre-orders for the album begin tomorrow via iTunes and Century Media’s online store. Those choosing to pre-order the album via Century Media’s online store can do so online at Those that pre-order the album via iTunes will get both ‘All I Need’ and ‘Boneyard’ as instant grat racks. It can also be pre-ordered via Amazon at

More information on Devil City Angels is available online now along with all of the band’s latest news and more at To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it. Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at