Max Cavalera Talks ‘Ritual’ Artwork In New “Making Of” Video

Courtesy: Nuclear Blast Records

Veteran metal outfit Soulfly is set to release its 11th full-length studio recording, Ritual on October 9, and in anticipation of its release, the band has released a new “making of” video featuring the band’s front man and founder Max Cavalera.

Cavalera discusses in the new, nearly five-minute video, the album’s artwork and how it came to fruition. He talks about the evolution of the album’s cover art and how Eliran Kantor (Testament, Iced Earth, Sodom) helped bring it to fruition, along with Kantor’s work on Soulfly’s 10th album, Archangel.

He also discusses the work of Marcelo Vasco (Slayer, hatebreed, Kreator) — who handled the album’s package design — the album art’s ties to the album’s lyrical themes and other related items in the video, which is streaming online now here.

The new video’s release follows the release of the album’ lead single ‘Evil Emppowered.’  That song actually plays behind Cavalera during his new making of video, too, so audiences who haven’t heard the song will get to hear it in that video, too.

Pre-orders are open now for Ritual.  The album was produced, recorded and mixed by Josh Wilbur (Killer Be Killed, Lamb of God, Gojira).  It features guest vocal performances from Lamb of God front man Randy Blythe, Immolation front man/bassist Ross Dolan and others.

The album’s track listing is noted below.

Ritual track listing:
1.  Ritual
2.  Dead Behind The Eyes (feat. Randy Blythe)
3.  The Summoning
4.  Evil Empowered
5.  Under Rapture (feat. Ross Dolan)
6.  Demonized
7.  Blood On The Street
8.  Bite The Bullet
9.  Feedback!
10.  Soulfly XI

More information on Ritual is available online now along with all of Soulfly’s latest news and more at:






To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at


Ellefson Coffee Company Grand Opening Celebration Grows Again

Courtesy: Ellefson Coffee Company/O’Donnell Media Group

Next weekend’s grand opening of Ellefson Coffee Company’s first brick and mortar store keeps growing.

The festivities for next weekend’s grand opening of Ellefson Coffee Company’s Jackson, MN store now include performances by two more acts.  Kik Tracee/Zen From Mars vocalist Stephen Shareaux and Bang Tango/Zen From Mars guitarist Drew Fortier will perform at the store throughout the weekend.  The duo will perform songs from Kik Tracee and Zen From Mars over the weekend.

Also added to the weekend’s festivities is Bryn Arens, front man of beloved local Minneapolis-based band FLIPP.  Arens, Shareaux and Fortier are just the latest additions to next weekend’s grand opening celebration. Local Jackson, MN-based stock car racer Luke Sathoff’s Ellefson Coffee Company-sponsored car will be on display at the store throughout the weekend, too.

The newly noted additions to next weekend’s festivities join already announced celebrities That Metal Show co-host Don Jamieson and paranormal author and investigator Adrian Lee.

Jamieson will be at the store April 8 while Lee will lead Ellefson and others on an exploration of Loon Lake Cemetery, the local Jackson, MN cemetery that inspired Megadeth’s hit song ‘Mary Jane.’

The permanently displayed “Museum of Deth,” which features artifacts and memorabilia from Ellefson’s personal collection. The items that will be on display include Ellefson’s own high school marching band uniform and memorabilia from other acts including Korn, Machine Head, Max Cavalera and Coal Chamber.

Ellefson said in a recent interview he was looking forward to next weekend’s events.

“As the grand opening draws nearer, it’s amazing to see the excitement build and be able to announce some more killer things we have planned for the grand opening and beyond!,” Ellefson said.  “We have people traveling from all over the country to join us in this celebration of all things coffee and metal and we’re going to show them all a great time.”

Ellefson Coffee Company Marking Director Thom Hazaert agreed.

“The Ellefson Coffee Company store has turned out to be an amazing way for David to have a permanent face in his hometown, while being able to tie in EMP, Jackson, Dean, SIT and everything else in our universe,” Hazaert said.  “With the huge sense of Megadeth history in Jackson, we are excited to be able to create a really unique an amazing fan (and coffee) experience that, as predicted, is turning out to not only be a highlight for the people of Jackson, but a destination for Megadeth fans from around the world.”

Ellefson Coffee Company’s new brick and mortar store sells more than just coffee.  It also serves as an outlet for anyone looking to purchase products from Ellefson’s EMP Label Group, Jackson Guitars, SIT Strings, Puck Hcky, Dean Guitars and other companies connected with Ellefson and EMP Label Group.

Ellefson Coffee Company’s grand opening will take place Friday, April 7 – Sunday, April 9 at 404 2nd Street, Jackson, MN.  The store can be contacted by phone at 507-847-4065.  More information on Ellefson Coffee Company is available online now at:









To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at

All Hail The Yeti Premieres ‘Mr. Murder’ Video

Courtesy:  Minus Head Records

Courtesy: Minus Head Records

All Hail The Yeti released the video for its latest single this week.

The band premiered the video for its latest single ‘Mr. Murder’ online this week exclusively through Music Choice. The song is taken from the band’s latest full-length studio recording Scream From a Black Wilderness. Front man Connor Garritty talked about the video, saying that while it gives fans a view of the band’s live show it also pays tribute to one of the band’s close friends, Matthew Berube.

“We are very excited to finally release the video for ‘Mr. Murder,” Garritty said. “This was shot over the last few tours compiled with live footage and tour antics while paying tribute to our brother Matthew Berube, who passed away in 2015.  it also features our dear friend Brock Lindow of 36 Crazyfists who flew out from Alaksa to join us on the Haunted and Damaged Tour to perform live and film the video. This song is very difficult for us to perform live given the subject matter, but it also brings us great happiness to immortalize our best friend. Hope you all enjoy…Hail ‘Mr. Murder’!”

All Hail The Yeti is preparing to join Max and Iggor Cavalera’s “Return to Roots Tour.”   they will join The Black Dahlia Murder, Combichrist, Allegeon, and Oni as support for the tour.  The tour launches this Sunday, Sept. 25.

Along with its dates on the “Return to Roots Tour,” All Hail The Yeti will also perform at a number of off-date shows with Combichrist during its October tour.

Fans can view All Hail The Yeti’s current tour schedule online now along with all of the band’s latest news at:






To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at