NBA TV To Carry Exclusive Coverage Of The 2016 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony

Courtesy:  Turner Sports

Courtesy: Turner Sports

Next Friday the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame will holds its annual enshrinement ceremony and NBA TV will have exclusive coverage of the ceremony.

Broadcast of the event begins Sept. 9 at 7:30pm ET live from the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, MA.  The 2016 class of inductees includes: four-time NBA Champion and current TNT NBA analyst Shaquille O’Neal, 1997 NBA Rookie of the year and 2001 NBA MVP Allen Iverson, and eight-time NBA All-Star Yao Ming.

Broadcast of the event will be preceded by the 2016 Hall of Fame Red Carpet Show at 6:30pm ET.  Matt Winer will host the program.  He will be joined by Steve Smith and Rick Kamla.

The full 2016 list of players to be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is noted below.

The full 2016 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame class:

  • Allen Iverson: Eleven-time NBA All-Star and 1997 NBA Rookie of the Year
  • Tom Izzo: Head Coach of the Michigan State University Spartans men’s basketball team and 2000 NCAA Division I National Champion
  • Yao Ming: Eight-time NBA All-Star with the Houston Rockets
  • Shaquille O’Neal: Four-time NBA Champion (three-time Finals MVP), 15-time NBA All-Star and 2000 NBA MVP
  • Jerry Reinsdorf: Owner of the six-time NBA Champion Chicago Bulls
  • Sheryl Swoopes: WNBA’s first-ever signed player and three-time WNBA MVP
  • Zelmo Beaty (posthumous): Two-time NBA All-Star and three-time ABA All-Star, who averaged a double-double in scoring and rebounding over his career
  • Darrel Garretson (posthumous): 27-year NBA official, organizer and leader of the National Association of Basketball Referees
  • John McClendon (posthumous): First coach to win three consecutive national championships (Tennessee State, 1957-59) and first African-American coach to coach in a professional league (ABL)
  • Cumberland Posey (posthumous): 2006 inductee of the Baseball Hall of Fame and winner of four consecutive Colored Basketball World Championships between 1900-1920


Curt Gowdy Media Award recipients:

  • David Aldridge: Journalist with over 20 years covering the NBA, most recently as an NBA on TNT insider, NBA TV contributor and senior writer
  • Jay Bilas: NBA analyst with ESPN since 1995

More information on NBA TV’s programming is available online now along with all of the latest NBA headlines at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at