Set It Off Debuts ‘Happy All The Time (Acoustic)’ Video

Courtesy: Fearless Records

Set It Off premiered the video for its latest single this week.

The band debuted the video for its acoustic take of its song, ‘Happy All The Time’ Tuesday. The acoustic take is featured in the band’s recently released album, Midnight: The Final Chapter.

The band’s updates take of ‘Happy All The Time,’ which features a guest appearance by Compton Kidz Club and Issues bassist Skyler Acord, is just as enjoyable as the song’s original take.  The horns in the original song are replaced here with an equally light piano line.  The choral element from the original is carried over here to make the acoustic take uplifting, too.  Speaking honestly, the updated, acoustic take can actually be argued to be even more enjoyable than the original, and the original is enjoyable in its own right.

The video for the acoustic take of ‘Happy All The Time’ brings the Compton Kidz Club (an all female chorus) together with the members of Set It Off for the performance. The collective performs the single in a brightly lit setting that looks like a mix of an apartment setting and retail space. It is a unique setting for the uplifting composition.

Front man Cody Carson talked about the updated take of the song during a recent interview.

“With this acoustic version, we seriously stripped it down so you can really appreciate the incredible talents of Skyler Acord on bass and The Compton Kidz Club choir, led by Fred Martin,” said Carson. “It absolutely sends this song over the edge. It’s overflowing with emotion. Enjoy!”

Additionally, Carson talked about the song’s uplifting lyrical message.

“‘Happy All the Time’ has worked its way to bring my absolute favorite song off of Midnight,” he said.  “I am so damn proud of this song and the people involved with it. The message is important to me because we all feel so much pressure to be 100 percent all of the time and it’s SO important to remember that it’s okay to be sad. It also doesn’t hurt that my mom told me that even she puts this song on when she feels down.”

‘Happy All The Time’ is one of three acoustic updates featured in Midnight (The Final Chapter). The record also features acoustic takes of ‘Killer in the Mirror‘ and ‘Lonely Dance.’

Midnight (The Final Chapter) follows the release of Midnight, which Set It Off released in February 2019. Midnight featured the singles ‘Hourglass,’ ‘Midnight Thoughts,’ ‘For You Forever,‘ ‘Dancing With The Devil,’ Lonely Dance‘ and ‘Killer in the Mirror.’

After Midnight, an EP from the band which followed the release of Midnight featured the previously unreleased songs ‘Catch Me If You Can,’ ‘So Predictable‘ and ‘One Single Second.’ The songs were recorded during the Midnight sessions but did not make the final cut for the record.

More information on Set It Off’s forthcoming livestream concert is available along with all of the band’s latest news at:




To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at