Craft Recordings To Re-Issue Monk/Coletrane Collection On Vinyl Next Month

Courtesy: Craft Recordings

Craft Records will re-issue a collection of live recordings from John Coletrane and Thelonious Monk next month.

Thelonious Monk with John Coletrane: The Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings will be released June 9 in a deluxe vinyl box set and can be pre-ordered online now via Amazon. The new re-issue will feature new box art, rare photos and 1800-gram vinyl discs re-mastered from the recordings’ original analog masters.  The recordings will be available on hi-res digital platforms, too.

Audiences can watch a video presenting the collection’s unboxing online now here.  Craft Recordings President Sig Sigworth said the importance of the collection made it an obvious choice for a first impression from the fledgling company.

“Craft Recordings is built on a dedication to create innovative, high-quality releases,” Sigworth said.  “The intersection of John Coletrane and Thelonious Monk in 1957 defines high-quality and innovation, so it was an easy choice to have this unique package be Craft Recordings’ debut release.”

The upcoming collection holds special significance being released this year because 2017 marks what would have been Monk’s 100th birthday.  He and Coletrane are not the only big jazz names featured on the recordings.  Also featured in the collection are the likes of Art Blakey, Wilbur Ware, Coleman Hawkins, Shadow Wilson, Ray Copeland and Gigi Gryce.

The collection’s liner notes were written by Orrin Keepnews.

The complete track listing for the 3-LP collection is noted below.

Track List:

Disc One           

A1. Monk’s Mood [false start]

A2. Monk’s Mood

A3. Crepuscule with Nellie [take 1]

A4. Crepuscule with Nellie [take 2]

A5. Crepuscule with Nellie [breakdown]

B1. Blues for Tomorrow [first stereo release]

B2. Crepuscule with Nellie [edited: retakes 4 & 5]

Disc Two

A1. Crepuscule with Nellie [retake 6]

A2. Off Minor [take 4]

A3. Off Minor [take 5]

A4. Abide with Me [take 1]

A5. Abide with Me

B1. Ephistrophy [short version]

B2. Ephistrophy

B3. Well, You Needn’t [opening]

Disc Three                                       

A1. Well, You Needn’t

A2. Ruby, My Dear [with Coleman Hawkins]

B1. Ruby, My Dear [with John Coltrane]

B2. Nutty

B3. Trinkle, Tinkle

More information on Thelonious Monk with John Coletrane: The Complete 1957 Recordings is available online now at

To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at