Archeophone Records Announces New Joseph C. Smith Anthology

Courtesy:  Archeohone Records

Courtesy: Archeohone Records

Later this month Archeophone Records will release an invaluable new classic music anthology from famed band leader Joseph C. Smith.

Songs of the Night: Dance Recordings, 1916 – 1925 will be released Friday, July 29th via Archeophone Records.  The double-disc collection, forty-seven song anthology is the first ever collection of songs from the Joseph C. Smith Orchestra.  It celebrates the centennial of his first recordings and features a thirty-two page, full-color booklet with rare photos and extensive essay.  Along with celebrating Smith’s first recordings, the new set also celebrates many of his other firsts, too.  He was the first to record songs by Cole Porter and George Gershwin and the first to feature vocal refrains on dance records such as ‘Smiles.’  That’s not all.  Smith also had the first hits of songs such as ‘Hindustan,’ ‘Rose Room,’ ‘Alice Blue Gown,’ and ‘Three O’Clock In The Morning.’  As if that isn’t enough he was also the first band leader to spotlight instrumental solos on dance records.  One of the most notable of those solos came in the form of the laughing trombone on ‘Yellow Dog Blues.’ As Ryan Barna notes in the collection’s liner notes, Smith was the forbear to the likes of The Paul Whiteman Orchestra, The Dorsey Brothers, and even Glen Miller.  Speaking of instrumentals, Smith’s orchestra served as the starting point for so many great instrumentalists including: trombonist Harry Raderman, xylophonists Teddy Brown and George Hamilton Green, pianists Hugo Frey, Harry Akst, and William Berge, and saxophonist Rudy Wiedoeft.  The full track listing for Songs of the Night: Dance Recordings, 1916 – 1925 is noted below.


CD and Digital Track List:


CD 1

  1. Songs of the Night
  2. Money Blues
  3. I’ve a Shooting Box in Scotland
  4. Havanola
  5. Poor Butterfly
  6. Allah’s Holiday
  7. St. Elmo
  8. Dance and Grow Thin
  9. Missouri Waltz
  10. Calicoco
  11. When You Come Back
  12. Smiles
  13. Rose Room
  14. Mary
  15. Hindustan
  16. Rockin’ the Boat
  17. Head Over Heels
  18. Mickey
  19. Dear Old Pal of Mine
  20. Somebody’s Sweetheart and Good Morning, Judge
  21. Rainy Day Blues
  22. Coo Coo
  23. The Vamp

CD 2

  1. Who Did It?
  2. Peggy
  3. Yellow Dog Blues
  4. Happy
  5. Lovely Summertime
  6. That Naughty Waltz
  7. Karavan
  8. Ching-a-Ling’s Jazz Bazaar
  9. Love Nest
  10. Alice Blue Gown
  11. Sally
  12. I Lost My Heart to You
  13. Why, Dear?
  14. It’s You
  15. Stealing
  16. Three O’Clock in the Morning
  17. While Miami Dreams
  18. Rose of Stamboul
  19. Where Is the Man of My Dreams
  20. Sweetheart of Sigma Chi
  21. Stella
  22. It Ain’t Gonna Rain No Mo!
  23. Driftwood
  24. I Like You Best of All


More information on this and other titles from Archeophone Records is available online now at:










To keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews, go online to and “Like” it.  Fans can always keep up with the latest sports and entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at