Udo Dirkschneider Announces New Covers LP Release Date; Debuts ‘We Will Rock You’ Video

Courtesy: Atomic Fire Records

U.D.O. front man and namesake Udo Dirkschneider is scheduled to release his new covers compilation this spring.

The collection, titled My Way, is scheduled for release April 22 through Atomic Fire Records. In anticipation of the record’s release, Dirkschneider premiered the video for the set’s lead single, a cover of Queen’s ‘We Will Rock You’ Friday.

The video features Dirkschneider as a janitor, a DJ, and a bartender in an empty club. It opens with him in his role as the janitor, singing along to the completely re-imagined take of the song. He eventually makes his way into the club’s main room, where he shows up as the noted other figures.

As noted, the musical arrangement here is a completely re-imagined take of Queen’s timeless classic song. In the case of this presentation, it is presented in the vein of Dirkschneider’s own works. It is certain to have audiences talking.

“Queen have shown how versatile a band can be,” said Dirkschneider. “They have always fascinated me and have been one of my very first favorite bands. Queen inspired me musically and I still enjoy listening to all of their records to this day. I liked the live version of ‘We Will Rock You’ most, which is why I used that one for my cover version.”

My Way features covers of music not just from Queen, but from other well-known acts, such as Motorhead, Led Zeppelin, and Judas Priest, as well as Tina Turner, Billy Squier, and Uriah Heep. The collection’s track listing is noted below.

My Way Track Listing:

1. Faith Healer (Alex Harvey)

2. Fire (Crazy World Of Arthur Brown)

3. Sympathy (Uriah Heep)

4. They Call It Nutbush (Tina Turner)

5. Man On The Silver Mountain (Rainbow)

6. Hell Raiser (The Sweet)

7. No Class (Motörhead)

8. Rock And Roll (Led Zeppelin)

9. The Stroke (Billy Squier)

10. Paint It Black (Edit Version)

11. He’s A Woman, She’s A Man (The Scorpions)

12. T.N.T. (AC/DC)

13. Jealousy (Frankie Miller)

14. Hell Bent For Leather (Judas Priest)

15. We Will Rock You (Queen)

16. Kein Zurück (Wolfsheim)

17. My Way (Frank Sinatra)

A limited edition vinyl pressing of My Way will be available for Record Store Day (April 23). The grey marbled vinyl pressing will include a signed photo card and compilation of artists signed to Atomic Fire Records on CD.

Additionally, a limited number of 7″ vinyls featuring ‘My Way’ and ‘Kein Zuruch’ is scheduled for release March 18 to help promote the new collection. Pre-orders are open. the vinyl is limited to only 700 copies.

More information on Dirkschneider’s new record is available along with all of his latest news at:

Website: https://www.udo-online.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/udoonline

Twitter: https://twitter.com/udoonline

To keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews, go online to https://www.facebook.com/philspicks and “Like” it. Fans can always keep up with the latest entertainment news and reviews in the Phil’s Picks blog at https://philspicks.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.